Sort:  

It just reminds me of the Karoo. Besides what you water manually it is brown and dry. So it makes sense that when you get rain the semi-desert will pop up in green and flower, then will come the bugs and birds and mammals that all eat and prey on the greenery and each other... a week later everything is brown again.

a week later everything is brown again.

With the exception of some parts. There is a green pathway in the rocky semi-desert. There are flowers, grass and other plants there. Near a tunnel near El Médano.

Whenever I go there, it is always green. We do not water it. And as I currently know, no one else is watering it either. I heard that there are other "evergreen" places too in the barranco, but I have not seen them so far. I can imagine it.

This is not literally a desert. Only a semi-desert. And as we go in the direction of the Teide (to the middle of the island), everything becomes greener and greener. As I heard, the most green part of the island is in the north side of the island.

I was in the north side of the island only two times. Once in February in Tacoronte and once in April in Santa Cruz de Tenerife.

Sounds like a really interesting place to live.

Yeah I looked at a Google map of the area earlier. I saw the northern part is more green.

So why live in the dry part?

So why live in the dry part?

This is the only place on the island, where there is a mostly Hungarian cave living and tent living community for more than 10 years. I live with them since the previous year (2023).

Oh ok. Because of the existence of the community.

Do you like it there?

Yes. There is no rent, no bills (except the monthly mobile internet). Most of the food is also free (recycled). We use solar energy to charge our mobile phones. We carry water mostly in eight liter bottles from the nearby cities. Mostly we spend very little money. In the near future I will spend a few hundred Euros on the aviary of my female Harris's hawk. Other than this, I (and most of the people in this community) spend very little money.

No need for money. That sounds ideal!