A Secret Wedgie with some reflections on 2 months in Steemit

in #wedgie7 years ago

IMG_1167.JPG

At the moment I'm still working on developing some more stories for my series called Elaborate Redundancies. Go and have a look at my last 2 entries if you are interested in knowing what they are all about.

These kinds of stories are much slower to churn out as I tend to do them in a word program as it allows time to finesse, reflect on ideas, edit, contemplate my navel and format the stories so they are polished to at least a half decent and readable yarn. In doing this, however, I kind of miss doing other stuff that that rolls just straight off the top of the head. I thought Id therefore sit down for a few minutes and zap off a quick wedgie. (No, not the kind where a kids gets his underpants pulled up his butt crack,,,, more of a thought wedge between two of my more detailed stories.)

I have now been putting stuff on Steemit for 2 months now and think I almost understand how it all works. I also watch all the videos and read the news from our Steemit Fuher, Ned Scott, and so have also gained a pretty good understanding and take on what direction all this is heading. It's all very exciting on a number of levels.

Mostly the excitement is more for those who seriously want to play the game of earning Steemit or other currency. This is not, however, what I've so far found attractive about being on here.

While the occasional collection of money is quite good fun (woo hoo!!! I have $5 after 20 posts , which has allowed me to spread the love around a little , for me the real value from my first attempt at blogging comes from other areas all together.

In having the opportunity to write down and capture my various random thoughts and imagined yarns, I now have a nicely accessible and readable format that anyone, should they choose, access via a net connection. What that means for me is that when I am now out with friends and an issue comes up, I can say .. oh... I was thinking about just that thing the other day. In fact, I've written a story about it.

My real life friends, none of whom are on Steemit, will then go off and enjoy either reading the story for themselves or ask me to read it for them. I truly have found being able to do this has already brought me a great deal of pleasure and joy. Way more than what I was hoping for or imagined when I first joined this platform. So for me.. its been a win/win and the bottom line of all this is... there's more than one way to skin a cat!!

BTW - The picture attached to this story was taken at the very excellent Pink Floyd exhibition, currently showing at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London. Definitely worth a visit if you have an interest in that band and their music.

The other thing I wanted to leave behind was a reference to a mighty fine blogger who seems to be taking the world by storm. Mainly because the writer, Tim Urban, has discovered a way to tell highly complicated stories in an amusing and incredibly clear way. He's become so successful that he now does a lot of work spreading the good work of Elon Musk. His blog site has also morphed into a web site. Many, many interesting things to read and learn from on there is you have the time or the inclination.

The site is located at:

www.waitbutwhy.com

Have fun kids!!

Sort:  

yep. my first thought when i saw the picture was Dark Side of the Moon.

Hi @gwelton, we have a pretty strong Team Australia community going here on steemit to support each other. If you'd like to be part of it, then please check out this link for the instructions on how to join https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-update-06-10-17-and-steemit-goes-down