Wednesday Walk with @hobotang in Downtown Knoxville

D8AD4AF1-E37D-4BE3-83BC-DF8B8318D0B2.JPG
Self-portrait standing inside Emporium Center, home of the Arts & Culture Alliance. Shooting with my Sony a7RII with a 35mm f/2.8 lens.

On this week's Wednesday Walk, @hobotang and I trekked around downtown Knoxville going nowhere in particular, cameras in hand.

Typically, we have both toted our film cameras around, finishing our day at the darkroom to develop the day's work. I've felt very disconnected from my digital camera lately, mainly because I don't know it as well as any other digital camera I've owned and that has made me feel incompetent and sloppy whenever I picked it up. I'm so glad I took it out and even though I couldn't join Alhen in the film fun, I got to know my camera better and created some shots I love.

06A20E9A-5230-4CC7-89FD-D784B3FBAB92.JPG
@hobotang leading the way toward the train tracks.

Tang has instilled in me that photos can be found anywhere, that one needn't plan every detail of the outing or be too concerned with guaranteed interesting surroundings. He has a knack for find photos wherever we are, and this helped me break out of my perfectionist mindset and get creative.

We left our car and headed straight to the tracks, hearing trains creeping forward in the distance. I can be such a little kid when it comes to trains. They're fantastic. I learned from a friend that trains have 10 - 12 cylinder engines and so many gears in their transmissions... but it's because they are pulling so much! They're like metal centipedes...

This is my favorite train photo I've ever taken!

3302BE62-6EBA-4D00-BF0E-0143FA5EF7A3.JPG

After the trains, we headed west, keeping in the shade as best as we could. It was a beautiful, less-than-normal humid Tennessee summer day, so in the shade, it was quite enjoyable. We crossed a modest bridge overlooking the train hub and out of the corner of my eye, I noticed this gorgeously colorful stairwell! While this specific piece is not too abstract, it still maintains the elements of abstract art with a strong presence of color theory. This mural is by Robin Easter Design. Next time we're out, I'm going to make sure we see the mural in its entirety!

7C0ED031-0722-4A25-A971-31B4F06E5640.JPG
Tang wondering what the heck I'm taking a picture of.

Note to self: bring water on these Wednesday Walks!

We were parched, so we went off in search​ of some free water. It's tough in this little metropolitan area to find things like bathrooms and a glass of water without paying for something in the business. That's understandable - but we are ballin' on a budget, so we're looking for that freebie. : )

Luckily, we found a super cool art gallery called Emporium Center, home of the Arts & Culture Alliance.

Quite a large place, and with a public restroom, water fountain, and plenty of air conditioning. We even found an interesting photography exhibit to peruse before we embarked again.

1E939350-32C0-41E6-AD37-F7EFAD41C054.JPG

2E9892EF-9297-4330-9532-368B8EE56513.JPG

There's something so romantic to me about having your own studio space. A room, a real room with floor space and places to put all of your art supplies. A place that becomes your own, an artwork in itself as you express your creativity in its arrangement.

We had the opportunity to peek into many tenant artist studios in the Emporium Center, and they were nothing short of spectacular. I even snuck a photo into this one, whose door was already ajar.

80D834BB-C160-4B12-A696-BA819F6921AA.JPG

We kept this walk a little short, as I had to work that afternoon + evening, so on our way back to the car, I snapped one of the final photos of Tang inside this Crape Myrtle tree beside Summit Hill drive.

By far my favorite subject, if anyone was wondering.

FD283FE0-009A-4320-8F72-B168E8A7D3D5.JPG

What a fun Wednesday Walk! I'm grateful to have the camera gear that I've cultivated over my career, and to have this new-to-me (secondhand) Sony a7RII to get to know more deeply. It's going to be difficult, splitting my time between digital and film! Both give me different, valuable artist experiences that I wouldn't trade for anything.

Did you take a Wednesday Walk? Drop your link in the comments below so I can read + enjoy!



Asset 2-230.png


Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. You might have found me through the Ladies of Steemit curation initiative, showcasing the female voices on the Steemit platform. Let's hang out on the blockchain and see where it takes us.



DQmV67cvPjjfDk5bwtcAVMkQPhf8dxSJPk3BGKSqCBxR8KA.png

Proud member of

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

promo-mentors

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

teamgirlpowa.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

tna

Sort:  

I had such a wonderful time walking around downtown areas with you creating. Stumbling upon the art galleries was a my favorite part of the walk. It was a necessary thirst quenching pit stop on a very hot day, but more so we got to see what others in the scruffy city are creating. Love ya, BooTang 🌿

What a cool and interestign walk, I particularly love that Mural

tip!

Oh I loved joining you on your walk- your self portrait is very beautiful. There is something really magical about trains- that pic is gorgeous!! I have a bit of a thing for some of the stations over here with their victorian elements mixed in with everyday mechanics.

Love how your search for water took you to the gallery. I'm very jealous of that wonderful studio space. You're right- they can tell us as much about the artist as their work does!

Hope you continue to enjoy making friends with your camera. Thanks for a wonderful read. E x

You know I love your posts, but the best of this one is your boyfriend's camera! A MAMIYA BIG FORMAT?????? Amazing!!!! Take care

Haha thanks @vandimlasca ! I’m a nerd about gear and film photography. You should check out my page - you might find something you like.

Of course I’ll do. I have 2 mamiya 35 mm. I’d try to repair them

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-20T18:09:57
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 776.38/800.00
Total Photos: 68
Total comments: 25
Total contest wins: 8
And have also received a 0.72 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hi @ameliabartlett! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 106 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Looks like a wonderful outing you had! I like that mural, too, and the pink-and-blue paint on the step risers!