A #WednesdayWalk to Talaad Kong Sai - Our Wednesday Evening Neighbourhood Market

Several days of heavy rain from a rogue unseasonal storm cell pressing down from China had seen us cooped up for days. So today when the heavy tropical rains finally stopped and the blue sky shyly showed its face again, I had only two 'Must Do Today' items on my agenda: laundry 😆 and a #wednesdaywalk to our local evening market, which happens every Wednesday and Saturday from about 3pm till dark. At Wat Kong Sai here in Saraphi, Chiang Mai in Northern Thailand (where I live).

AWW18.jpg

"Wat" means "temple" in Thai, and the market takes place in the public square in front of the temple - sort of the Thai equivalent of the village green.

I set off late afternoon - a bit after 5pm - for the all of 10 minute walk through our local village.

To my right as I stand in front of my house, you can see the sun beginning to sink in the west and the shadows becoming long; looking the other way you can see the road that leads to the market.

AWW26.jpg

AWW1.jpg

As you turn left, you can see the gentrification and westernization of the neighbourhood has begun. Sadly.

AWW4.jpg

But don't let the modern-urban facade fool you: behind the new houses there are still old khlongs - small canals - which lace and criss cross the whole area and, once upon a time, had been a network for floating networks and trade based on the MeKong river system.

AWW25.jpg

At night, the cacophony of frogs can be deafening. Snakes? Oh yeah. 😆

Behind me, the quiet rural tranquility still dominates.

AWW3.jpg

Heading towards the market, the road is BARELY wide enough for two cars. Pavements? Nah. Everything shares the roads here - even the occasional buffalo or elephant.

AWW5.jpg

The side sois (laneways)? LOL... don't even go there unless you are VERY good at backing out! Strictly, and barely wide enough for one big car.

AWW6.jpg

And so I wandered to the market, passing some very humble and traditional Thai houses:

AWW7.jpg

I walked past the local minimart, which sells EVERYTHING...

AWW8.jpg

And also the local village bar, which does a roaring trade most nights.

AWW9.jpg

As I rounded the corner after the bar, I was overjoyed to see the frangipani at the back of the temple had erupted into flower after the deluge of rain the last days. The fragrance in the air is literally Divine!

AWW10.jpg

You will almost always see frangipanis or the dark pink plumeria in Thai temples; the Thai people believe the flower energy gives calm and rest to anxious and unsettled spirits.

The back gate of the temple is already sporting paper lanterns ready for the Thai New Year Songran celebrations next week:

AWW11.jpg

The temple walls and fences have all been neatly whitewashed, ready for a New Year full of clean energy.

AWW12.jpg

And as I walked alongside the temple, the little market came into view:

AWW13.jpg

AWW15.jpg

This market never fails to bring me joy and locally grown organic bargains. These are LOCAL people, many of them selling whatever they have grown themselves. The cos lettuce I bought today? The lady only had 2 to sell, but they'd been picked only a few hours ago.

AWW16.jpg

AWW17.jpg

AWW18.jpg

My extravagant shop today?

AWW24.jpg

  • 10 big local organic eggs
  • 6 bottles of water (to tide us over till the delivery man brings the refillable glass ones
  • A small bunch of gluay hom (bananas)
  • 2 cos lettuces
  • 2 bunches on baby brocolli
  • 1kg purple potatoes
  • 1.5kg hom daeng (red onions)

176 baht. USD $5.60 😍

Walking home I noticed the plumerias too, have erupted after the rain:

AWW19.jpg

The ubiquitous Thai chickens were out scratching as the do, everywhere. Free range is soooo common here as to be completely unremarkable.

AWW27.jpg

AWW21.jpg

I enjoyed the bodhi tree over by the little water pumping station today...

AWW22.jpg

and was THANKFUL to finally see the "billboard" with the phone number of the local sewing lady:

AWW23.jpg

Thankful for the moments.

Enjoying the neighbourhood.

Blissed 'n' Blessed.

HiveOnBoard1.gif

Get Your FREE Hive Account



Fair Trade, Sustainable, Cruelty Free. Shipping Worldwide..png

Come check out my Pure Thai Naturals online store

TwitterTiny100x100.png
Find me on Twitter: Pure Thai Naturals @BreugelMarike & @HiveLift

Sort:  

Wait a minute! It's Wednesday already? 🤔

I enjoyed watching all the scooter gangs in Greece. Video footage I've seen of all the scooters in Thailand would be so fun to watch.

Any day of the week.

You know, if I wasn't living in Thailand, my second choice always was (and still is) Greece. And yes, the scooter gangs buzzing around Omonia Square in Athens made me LOSE my international driving virginity in a BIG WAY! 😆

Yes, it's Wednesday. Get out for a walk.

!ENGAGE 25

Yes, it's Wednesday. Get out for a walk.

I'll be putting more miles on the bicycle today I just didn't know what day it was. Galen reminds me when it's Friday but I've never had assistance with Wednesday. Thank you.

Out of everywhere we've been, my wife still insists we move back to Greece when/if these restriction let up.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for sharing your walk with us 🙏 I could really picture you there, I hope you are doing good 💚

Doing just fine, my dear. Yes, having been here I'm SURE you can picture a lazy stroll to the market on a lovely afternoon. WE really are SOOO blessed here!!

Are you still in Sweden??

Hoping we can start to consider travel again later this year. Until then, my wander to the market is pretty nice.

!ENGAGE 15

Yes, I'm still in Sweden, will be here until after the summer at least. But now I have made it through the cold winter months 🙂

I'm hoping to be able to travel to Asia next winter 🤞

xx

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Very Beautiful place that You live!
Thank You for sharing!
👍🏼🌄😁🌄👍🏼

Thailand is an INCREDIBLE country and yes, northern Thailand is particularly beautiful.

Sweet of you to pop by @lesmann 😍

!ENGAGE 20

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1166.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations @artemislives! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 29000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!