Wednesday Walk - Cranes Creek

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Cranes Creek

I did this walk a couple of years ago. I really find the underside of bridges very interesting. Their geometry, the angles, the light and shadows, all make them interesting subjects for photographs. This is a walk to the Cranes Creek railroad bridge. The creek is a small tributary into the Indian River in Melbourne, Florida. The Indian River is one section of the intracoastal waterway. The waterway runs from Southern Florida up to Boston, Massachusetts.

Railroad tracks run parallel to Highway US1 and cross the tiny Cranes Creek in Melbourne. The bridge crossing the creek at one time carried two sets of track. Now just one remains. The rusting underside of the bridge is photographer's heaven! The beams and the girders form countless angles and interesting shapes.

Here are some of my shots from under the bridge. I had some fun in Photoshop post-processing them.

Bridge_1.jpg
f/4.5 1/50 sec 25.0 mm ISO 100

RustyBridge_2 (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).jpg
f/5.6 1/100 sec 67.0 mm ISO 320

RustyBridge_3.jpg
f/5.6 1/200 sec 135.0 mm ISO 1000

HotRust.jpg
f/5.6 1/125 sec 100.0 mm ISO 125

CraneCreekBridge.jpg
f/5.6 1/200 sec 135.0 mm ISO 1000

CraneCreekBridge_2.jpg
f/5.6 1/100 sec 67.0 mm ISO 200

Category Wednesday Walk
Settings various
Camera Canon 60D
Lens Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/4-5.6 IS
Location Melbourne, Florida

This is my entry in the #wednesdaywalk challenge by @tattoodjay
and my entry #10 in #SteemBloPoMo challenge by our friend @traciyork


Div_1.png

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries for prints and products
of my photos and artwork on the following sites:

Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook
and on WEKU

Enjoy!

Roger


Div_2_Paws.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif









Asapers.gif

Sort:  

So Nice to see art and photograph it during a walk

Thank you for your comments!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much! xoxoxo

I really like these. I can tell you had fun doing it.
Also the abstractness appeals to me.

Thank you it was fun!

I'm glad to see that I'm not the only one who finds the underside of bridges really interesting! Great photos.

They are so cool! Fun to photograph!

My dad was a crane operator and he often built bridges. He would drive the family out to see the latest construction project that he was working on. I can remember him saying to me 'you know you have probably seen more of the undersides of bridges than any girl in the Midwest'. It was something of a family joke, but I never got tired of seeing them.

That's awesome! Thank you for your comments!

I to love the undersides of bridges especially cool ones like this with such interesting and rusty detail, the angles with the repetion of the frameworks are my favoritees but there all greta shots

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk, will be back later to upvote

!tip

Thank you for your comments! When I was taking these photos a kid walking by asked me why I was taking photos of something that ugly. I told that because it really was beautiful.

I have had similar said to me I think photographers develop the eye to see beauty everywhere which is a good thing and I kind of feel sorry for those that don’t see it

Wooooww i really like this, @rwedegis! Such a strange and beautiful shots! Grungy, and industrial, and rich with textures and really good eye for framing * ___ * Very nice post ! <3

Thank you for your comments!

@rwedgis, these shots under the bridge are very interesting.

Thank you for your comments!

🎁 Hi @rwedegis! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)