You're looking good for 100!

in #weekend-engagement2 years ago (edited)

100 Weekend Engagement Donuts.jpg


Celebrating #100 Weekend Engagement

I had a bit of a "Flingback Friday" yesterday when I read through some of the highlighted Weekend Engagement posts that the G-Dog put up. He often says he's a knucklehead full of nutbaggery - well to keep up with over 1000 comments on a post, you kinda gotta be a little bitty nuts and a whole lotta dedicated! Congrats on the milestone Galen!

Turning 100 is nothing to scoff at. TheWeekend Community and Weekend Engagement concept is looking freaking sexy for it's age don't you think? It's grown and changed over time and has brought many different people together. It's become quite a melting pot.


My Hive journey and stumbling on The Weekend

I only started posting five months after I opened my account and even then it was sporadic as I had absolutely no clue of how Hive worked or the long term potential it has. Looking back now, the learning curve was quite steep although I wish I had dedicated more time to learning faster and applying it sooner.

The Weekend Community was one of the first communities that I found stumbled across and I'm glad I did. It was somewhere around week 60 at that stage. I made a few comments about almost knocking myself out with a vacuum cleaner pipe after clearing a blockage and canned myself at the banter that ensued. It became one of the first places I would check in.

I'll admit I made a lot of mistakes at the beginning of the journey simply because I was ignorant. Hive has changed my life for the better in a number of ways. Sure some days I don't know what to post but there's never a shortage of blog prompts if you go back a few weeks in this community!


What would I have done differently?

  1. I would have opened my account four years earlier
  2. Research, research, research!
  3. I would have rather invested capital into my Hive account instead of buying Bitcoin when I originally did. I know it sounds ridiculous, but if I had bought Hive and powered it up, there would have been less opportunity to panic sell it as it would have been powered up.
  4. Powering up would have started from day 8 of my account, not after months.

Would I start from scratch?

Absolutely not. There are posts in my account that have a lot of meaning and memories in and behind them, almost a mirror of life events, set-backs, challenges, emotions, growth, achievements and victories. I would like to believe that my account shows a good portion of who I am - my personality, what I value and hold dear and sometimes even my whimsical side. I don't think that anyone's account is an absolute reflection of them as a person, but it's a good place to start when we are wanting to engage with like-minded people.

Congrats Galen and all of the Weekenders who got involved up until now. Cheers to many more!


Header Image Source


Rachel Carson Quote.png

Sort:  

I would have wanted to start in Hive much earlier too. And one of the things I love is that I powered up and have in HP most of what I've earned, so is a real investment for the future. That doesn't give leeway to invent or fall into cryptocurrency panic, hehe

And I can't agree more that what Galen has done with The Weekend and the whole concept is awesome.

Cheers🤗

Hey @coquicoin

Thanks for stopping by and saying hi. I absolutely love the fact that staked Hive can't be withdrawn instantly. I'm sure there are instances where that might feel worrisome but it gives me a feeling of security.

Gosh yes, if only we had known earlier right? At least we are here now and forging on ahead. Thanks for your comment, have a wonderful day.

A wonderful day to you too.
Happy mothers day!
🤗🌸

At least you are hear now! I hear you about BTC. STILL debating about whether to cut losses and sell for Hive aha. I've had to power down as I needed money for various things but I'm keeping some in Hive savings as that 20 percent Apr is amazing.

Oh BTC is going to fall further apparently (not financial advice) and now is a bad time to sell anything. I am fighting back the urge to sell something to buy Hive now, but I'm going to make another plan because selling at a loss in the hope of making a possible margin doesn't sit well. I sold my BTC at a huge loss and still kick myself but these things are the best teachers.

The price of Hive is so good for buying now, I looked at it this morning - it was below 70c on Coingecko. It's also a good time to convert HBD to Hive because you will get more Hive for your HBD and then when the price goes up, you're making a gain passively.

Thanks so much for the advice.. so best to HODL, right?

I never know when the good time is for buying HIVE, I'm hopeless with that, and always forget too! So your advice is appreciated, dear one!

The way I see it is that for a large portion of the last 6 months Hive was above $1, so when it's trading at $0,60 to $0,70 I see that as a bargain. Obviously I could be horribly wrong and Hive might go all the way down to like $0,30 again, who knows (maybe the Oracle knows lol), but if that happens, gosh I'll make a freaking plan to buy as much as possible.

I've heard some analysts saying that BTC might wick down to $19k with this market crash and while I always take that stuff with a huge pinch of salt, there are so many things influencing the markets now, I wouldn't say it's impossible.

Gosh, maybe I should sell too...

I remember that our first interactions were on one of my #weekend-engagement topics...The one where I asked people to tell the community something it didn't know about the user I believe. Seems like that was years ago, but was only last year.

It would be cool to go back and do it over I guess, although I don't think I'd do much differently...Maybe I'd buy loads of Hive though, which I didn't do back in 2017.

Thanks for being involved and doing some of the heavy lit for THE WEEKEND community.

I know right? This last year has been such a time warp hasn't it?

There were some stupidly funny comments, I almost wet my pants the one day laughing. I'm strangely not even afraid to admit this to you which is weird but kinda cool lol

I think that you have done a freaking sterling job with your communities and your account - you're a role model to many and it has been an absolute pleasure to help out, I've enjoyed it 😉

I won't tell anyone you...

almost wet your pants

...because of one of my #weekend-engagement topics...That's the exact reaction I was always going for you know?

Anyway, I better go...I have more pants-wetting plans to think about in respect of next Friday's blog prompts.

Thanks Galen 🤣 Could you have possibly put it in any larger letters?

I totally brought that on myself hahahaha
It's all good though, totally worth it and I enjoy the laughter.

Have a good one and congrats again, super awesome 😉

Well, I could have made it bigger, but wanted to be subtle. 😊

I wet my pants once, I'll tell the story one day, when you invite me over for a braai.

I was being facetious and you were being subtle, it works 😁

You're on, I'll get some real Karoo lamb chops and I'll make warm potato salad. We can exchange stories because I've got one too, it was a funny day and brings a smile to my face.

Lol, there's a word for that: Facetiubtle. It is a widely used word, I'm surprised you don't know it already.

Hmm, beef would be better, or elephant, springbok or hippopotamus.

Cold potato salad nutbag.

You wet your pants?

I'm sure that there was the word

"ALMOST"

in my original comment somewhere

🤣

Damn I wish I'd bought more at what.. 20 cents?? Sheesh.

Yeah, don't we all! Still, we get different value from it, more than just monetary I think.

Hive has changed my life for the better in a number of ways.

Totally agree! Only found this community at WE98 but like what they say, it's never too late! :)

Hi Relf

So true, we're glad you're here, it's always exciting when you find a new community that you can click with. I'm happy to read that Hive has been positive for you too.

Have a good one 🙂

Congratulations @andrastia! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 5000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day

Always one merry go round ride writing posts @adrastia, but what fun we do have along the way. The best thing is that we do not give up. Sending happiness and lots of success.

@andrastia you're a motivation to me especially, and I think there's more powering up for you. Kudos 👍