You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week eleven: Win hive for your comment

Yep, I love the .308 but from a ballistic perspective the 65 kills it at range.

Roo's and deer mainly, in a cattle farm. I've written about it in The Pew.

I used to go for pigs and goats, but that was hunting not culling. As you know tags are needed for roo's, to remove the meat from the property but I take the deer...Give it to a mate who deals with it...I get a supply of venison all year round.

I lived in QLD for a while, Cairns and a little bit in Brisbane. You?

Sort:  

In kingaroy. Just north west of Brisbane just past nanango.

Hunted hog once got a 200lb beast and threw many a bbq that summer. It was terrorizing a farm in central California. Had four inch tusks.

You'd love south Carolina where im at currently. Plenty of deer. A rediculous amount. Had a four or six point buck in my back yard a month ago. Bastard was attacking my neighbors fence for some reason. Maybe getting the felt off its antlers i dont know. I went out thinking it was an intruder trying to break into my neighbors house since they were out of town. Went unarmed with a torch. Saw that big buck which just stopped, stared at me and gave me the "yeah im fucking up your neighbors fence. What you gunna do about it." Look. I was like nothing. Nothing at all mr buck im gunna go back inside now have fun thrashing the fence. And for another twenty minutes that's exactly what it did.

Nice part of QLD, but then most of it is. I'm down in Adelaide, born here. Suits me fine as I get to do what I want to without all the crowds of the Eastern States. I spent a lot of time in Queensland though, holidaying and shooting.

Lol...That buck was like hi Dave. Fuck you Dave, nothing to see here mate.

Big fella's huh?

I've travelled the world a bit, never made it to US of A though. One day...I'm more keen on the natural spaces, small time America, than the major cities. Always wanted to go to Montana, Alaska and Maine. Carolina is south east right? I'd want to do some civil war stuff that's probably good place to start. I like war history, and history in general.

Yeah he was a big guy. Looked even bigger out there at night unarmed while it was glaring at me.

Carolina is south east. Im in the upstate so ots more rural, although greenville is growing fast as a lot of major companies have moved into town. I prefer smaller towns than big cities. I grew up in los Angeles and im never going back there if you paid me. Its like anathema. With small towns you have a better sense of community.

I agree with what you say about small towns...Big cities are full of people but I find them soulless places.

Yeah right. Everyone is madly clawing around in their own bubble. Indifferent to everyone around them. There's no underlying fabric that holds the community together. Its weird i felt alone surrounded by 10 million people. Then i found myself in a small outback town persueing love and found that small towns had more of a culture of community and i loved it. Im in a relatively large populated town in upstate Carolina at the moment. Of about 60,000 people but it's spread out and rural with creeks and woods surrounding most homes. Still its too large for me and my heart is elsewhere. Looking fir the next best thing to Queensland. Might move south to the tip of florida in a year. The population will still be larger than i like, but its laid back, im on a tropical beach and i can go diving in the reefs there and pick up my horticultural hobby of collecting frangipani.

Hey just sent you a friend request thingamajigy on discord