You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week eleven: Win hive for your comment

image.png

I like music and old objects, one of my favorite things is this record player that my grandmother gave me, she knew that I loved it, she knew that I would take care of it. It is a treasure of mine as it reminds me of the moments we spent together listening to records and sharing long conversations.

I am a premature old man and I would have liked to live in the 60s, those years are iconic and describe the revolution of social norms on many aspects, such as clothes, music, sexuality, education, etc. This decade breaks social taboos, and I consider myself a bit rebellious inside.

image.png

Sort:  

I love it. I am a not premature old man, and I did grow up in the 60s and yes, it was rebellious.

I gave my entire stereo system to a step son. I hope he still has it.

I found this rare archival footage of you sitting in your living room listening to Connie Francis whilst enjoying some Prince Albert tobacco in your favourite pipe. Ah yes, good time. Good times.

Ahahahahahaha. We had a phonograph like that until the 60s! But alas, not me. I never smoked a pipe. I did listen to Connie Francis and Tennessee Ernie Ford and the Andrews Sisters because it's what we had!

Speaking of the good Prince Albert: I got my first look at a friends new to him '38 Chev pickup. Pretty cool, it's slaughtered and slammed and has a Camaro front clip with about 400 hp of 350cid. My friend is legendary for the 'touches' he puts in his rigs. In this case it's new interior with B-17 seats, A Lincoln carb body for the shifter knob, and a Prince Albert can covering the coil on the firewall. Pretty cool. Pictures to follow.

Lol, I knew that was you!

Send them snaps of that auto mate! 😁

I hope he does and treasures it as much as I treasure mine. I will give this one to my daughter and I do hope she keeps it, hahaha. The 60s were an amazing era to live in.

Ah yes, old thing...As someone who is obsessed with history I have to agree with you. I also wish I was born in the past...Well, I guess I was born in the past but I mean a past era, you know? Maybe the 20's, or better still medieval times.

Anyway, I had a record player similar to that one; The family had it. t a lot of use too as we always had music playing.

Music has been a huge part of my life and not just from the listening perspective, I started to learn to play the piano as a four and a half years old and played for years. Music has a way us speaking to us I think, don't you?

Thanks for joining in and dropping an entry. Keep that rebellious nature, focus it towards designing your ideal life in the face of any adversity and you will look back in time with no regret.

!ENGAGE 25

I love reading about history too, I'm passionate about WWI and WWII. Music has also been a part of my life, I have two guitars and a keyboard, at this old age I'm learning to play instruments, this is something I always wanted to do and with this time in quarantine it has helped me a lot, to relax and with this spare time I can learn even more than I'd be able to do if I had my normal work schedule.

Thank you for all of your support!

I love war history and spend a lot of time researching it, although I like all history. I find the past more interesting than the present.

You're welcome for the support, I always try and find people to help where I can, provided they help themselves...I'm not a huge fan of free-loaders. Reward for effort...No reward for none. 🙂

Keep up the good work, and stop by anytime.

Yes, yes, yes abso-bloody-lutely... It sounds cliche when people discuss the soundtrack of their life, but I have my own distinct soundtrack as do most people, music and emotions are so inexplicably intertwined, many memories would be bland and unremarkable without the song playing on the turntable in our mind when the past is conjured.

Music sort of punctuates the moment I think, and years later hearing the music again can bring it all flooding back, the feeling an emotion. Kind of nice I think.

I guess this maybe is the place. I really, really like the Rolling Stones. Who cared about the Beatles and their cute haircuts. I want leather and long hair and STRUT!

If I have a funeral (which is entirely out of my hands. I'll be dead and don't care) I have made my wishes clear. I want to have 'Sympathy for the Devil' played at my funeral.

So yeah, I like music.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Oh there is nothing like the sound of old, well played vinyl on a real record player. This takes me back to being young, I always loved music, still do, I remember the old 7"singles, I used to try and pile as many on top of the long holding pin in the centre of the turntable, as one would fall and play, the next would be ready to fall and play when that one finished.

Cool answer my friend :)