Good things sometimes come from unfortunate events

in #weekend2 years ago (edited)

Weekend vibes before the accident

It all started with a nice, chill #weekend.

I was going about my business, couch-potatoing as best I could, when I remembered one of my better decisions I made during the week: caramel fudge and macadamia ice cream!!

Oh yeah!

One of the best inventions to come out of Costa Rica.

I actually drove past the Dos Pinos factory on my recent trip to Costa Rica last weekend. I've heard it's like Willy Wonka's chocolate factory inside!

2-Planta-Cooperativa-Dos-Pinos-Costa-Rica-Pandora-Papers.jpeg


I disengaged my beached walrus position and melted off the sofa like a blob.

Destination: kitchen.

As I performed my slime-like maneuver, I heard a flat slap!

It was my 2015 Samsung A8 that hit the floor like Will Smith's hand hit Chris Rock's face at the Oscars.

Will Smith Oscars Slap.jpeg
image source
I closed my eyes, but I didn't panic.

No biggie.

This had happened many times before.

Only this time it was different.

This time, it caught a case of the Black Screen Of Death (BSOD), an affliction most common in late hours and usually in places of alcohol consumption.

The BSOD had come to my home.

Death of my phone; end of blogging?.png

image source

It was fully charged, so the buttons still worked. And it still got IMs, and if I could aim correctly, I could probably still unlock and use it. Poor little thing. It just lay there having epileptic seizures with white flashes from time to time.

I waited, and thought. I thought, and waited. I even forgot about the ice-cream.

I tried plugging it in and shaking it.
nothing.
I did what any sensible human being would do and shed a single tear in silent acceptance.


I called C-1-1, and the dispatcher answered

Dispatcher: Cellphone Paramedics, what's your emergency?
Me: My smartphone has fallen off the couch and has an all black screen
Dispatcher: BSOD! stay calm sir, we're on our way.

They came and wheeled my smartphone away and put him inside a tiny ambulance that took him to the phone hospital. There, I was able to see him through the glass window, while an imaginary heart rate monitor beeped in the background. The young girl from the phone repair shop came over to give me some words of reassurance. She said they would run some tests, and have the screen repaired in about 10 days.

10 days! That's like 10 months in HIVE blogging time!

But I had no choice.

I agreed and left him there.

I walked home, kicking rocks, in an imaginary cinematic wide-angle shot.

It also started raining.

standing in the rain.gif
image source

And on the way there I walked past the Samsung store. I tend not pay attention to these as I'm not one to splurge on the latest, most expensive devices. I try to keep my mobile devices for as long as they stay alive.

I looked up

standing in the rain looking up3.gif
image source

And I saw a SALE sign.

They had an earlier generation Galaxy S20 FE at a reasonable price.

samsung-galaxy-s20-fe-2.png

image source

I wiped my tears and walked towards the shop while the Kill Bill theme song started playing in the background:

(press play for full effect of the scene)


I walked in dramatic, slow motion to the beat of the music.

anime-walk-anime.gif
image source

then the camera did a close-up shot of my cool strut for effect...

dramatic Walking 02.jpeg

I put on my super-focused anime eyes...

anime focused eyes.png
image source
And right when the orchestral part of the song hit...

and kicked the door in!

Kick door open.jpeg

image source

I looked cool as shit!

Dust flew everywhere.

The clerk looked at me in silence.

I lit a cigarette and blew the smoke in her face.

cigarette-smoke.gif

image source

and I pulled out a huge wad of Japanese cash....

counting cash2.gif

The dust settled.

And then the music slowly faded away.

END SCENE


back to reality...

I asked how much it was and paid for the phone like a regular human being.

I smiled, and left.

Now, because this isn't a product review, I won't go into great detail about the phone's characteristics.

This is more a story about how an unforeseen situation, might drive you to acquire what I consider a necessary, and in this case improved, tool for blogging on HIVE.

My new phone has enough memory so I can have a bunch useful apps like @ecency and @leofinance and enough processing power that it feels nice and snappy when switching from app to app.

It has a 12 Mega Pixel primary camera with three lenses:

  • 1.8 aperture lens
  • ultra wide-angle lens
  • and telephoto lens with up to 30x zoom

And it also has a super slo-mo feature in which the action is shot at 960 fps (frames per second). This might come in handy when making an action post here on HIVE. As you might be able to tell, I already have some ideas rolling.

I've already tried the camera in some other posts, and as you can see, the quality of the pictures and vibrant colors are quite nice for outdoors stuff, so I'm inspired to share a lot more pictures from my daily happenings:

Rain Tree 02.jpeg

from my blog: Pura vida! visiting Costa Rica's UTC college of Agriculture and Life Sciences

As a matter of fact, I'm documenting my visit to the local pub today for #BEERSATURDAY:

taking picture of the Beer Bible.jpeg

Got some pretty cool information about the history of porters and stouts if you're into that kind of thing:

Quiscalus black oatmeal stout

Inspiration

Daltono is one of the content creators here on HIVE that have really inspired me because he's a regular guy who's always hustling, pushing to find new ways to be productive in his full-time blogging work.

In one of his walk & talk videos, he talks about his best investments ever (so far)

One of these investments is his mobile phone, which might not produce dividend tokens in a passive way, but is one of the most important weapons in his technological arsenal. Why? because it allows him to take nice pictures and produce high-quality videos for his Vlog every day and this consistency as a blogger/vlogger is what allows him to earn cryptocurrency every day.

So here's a shoutout to you @daltono! Thanks for the inspiration!

The Great Gatsby Leonardo DiCaprio cheers2.jpeg
image source

I mat be a little bit poorer in fiat today, but I'm a little bit richer in equipment and I'm going to be putting out a lot more high-quality content with it.

I'm not going to upgrade my M1 iMac yet, but I'll definitely let you know when I do :)

To anyone taking the time to read this, thank you!

I hope you find my writing style entertaining

Cue Kill Bill theme song again...

Sort:  

Great scene! I like
Your creativity and sense of humor.
Sucks your phone was demolished by a drop, I’ve had it happen too and I know how painful it is. Nothing is worse than being drunk and dropping an iPhone in a piss-filled toilet. That happened to me back in college before all phones were waterproof.

Thanks for the shoutout. Glad you have been enjoying my videos and are inspired. I’m not sure if you watched my “How to find positivity in negative things” video, but I believe it can relate to this situation in a lot of ways.