My Weekend Vibes

in #weekend3 months ago (edited)

The weekend is finally here, and it's time to take a break from work. I'm not being lazy; I genuinely need this break. However, it's no break at all, as I'll be fully occupied at home.

Firstly, let's clear this up: Does the weekend start from Thursday or Friday, and when does it end? Personally, I'd say it starts from Thursday and ends on Sunday. Yet, I'm not entirely convinced because I've heard arguments claiming Sunday as the beginning of the week, which I'm not sure of either. So, if Sunday is the beginning of the week, then it is safe to say that Saturday is the last day of the week. In that case, the weekend would be Thursday, Friday, and Saturday.

Whichever it is, it wouldn't stop me from accomplishing my set goals for the weekend. Here's a glimpse of what my weekend will look like.

Taking on a Non-Paying Babysitting Job:

Yes, that's right. I'll be taking on a non-paying babysitting job. My nieces and nephew will be coming over to spend their mid-term break with their grandparents—my parents. Being the youngest child/aunt in the family, it automatically becomes my responsibility to take care of them. I'm not particularly excited about this job, but what more can I do? I could spend my weekend at my other sibling's place, but that would also mean babysitting, as she too has little kids. When she goes to work, I'll automatically become the babysitter/mother.

I need to prepare myself mentally for this job because taking care of kids can be tiring and frustrating. You can't even have a moment to yourself unless they're asleep. It's either you're yelling at the top of your voice, quietly listening as they lay complaints against each other, or you're taking them to the toilet or even cooking for them. Kudos to their mom; she's really doing a good job. Maybe she too needs a break; that's why she decided to hire me over the weekend. But I tell you again, I am so not prepared for this job.

Taking Care of House Chores:

For someone like me who works from Tuesday to Friday, Saturday is the only day left for me to take care of my house. My routine for Saturdays includes sweeping, dusting, and cleaning the house and compound, as well as fetching water—the part I hate the most. I also do some laundry for myself and sometimes for Mom, Dad, and my big brother, and then I relax a bit afterward.

Luckily, my big sister helps out with chores. She cleans the kitchen, the toilet, and the bathroom, prepares breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and then washes the dishes. I know some Nigerian aunties and uncles might wonder why my older sister washes the dishes while I, the youngest child in the house, am around. Well, dear uncles and aunties, I don't really fancy washing dishes, and she doesn't fancy fetching water, so I fetch water, and she does the washing. It's not like she's mandated to do so; I help out in washing dishes sometimes, especially during workdays when she has to prepare breakfast and lunch at the same time.

Making Blog Posts and Engaging in Threads:

Regardless of how hectic the weekend will be for me, I have to carve out time to make at least two blog posts and try as much as possible to engage in threads—very necessary. I plan to capture some pictures on my way home today for my threads.

Talking about pictures, I enjoy photography. You might have seen the sentence "I love photography" in my bio. That's to tell you how fascinated I get with anything that has to do with photography. However, I suck at handling cameras, taking cool pictures, and editing them, which I am working on, and I think I am really trying, even though I haven't captured and edited any images recently.

Having "Me Time":

As much as I don't see the possibility of this happening with my nieces and nephew around, I am very much determined to get some rest, at least, even if I don't do all the things I usually do in my "me time." Resting is a priority lest I break down.

If I have the opportunity, I'll definitely watch some movies and catch up with my best friend. We have a lot to talk about.

I really wish I could practice the art of doing nothing this weekend, but wishes ain't horses. So, that's a dream that cannot be brought to reality. How's your weekend going already? Any planned activities or getaways?

credits
thumbnail from freepik