Mr Seth Melts Away... (the road to a healthy weight is a long one).

in #weightloss7 years ago

Hey sweet folks on Steemit,

First of all, I really like this community already.
Only a few minutes in, and already had the most warm welcomes I could wish for.

I only wrote my introduction-post a few minutes ago, and in there I told you that I am transgender. But to get to the point where I am now, I had to go through a lot of trouble. Among which, there was weight.

I have been struggling with obesity ever since I was a child. I was always the chubby one. And from chubby, it even went to morbidly obese, to the point where I weighed 147 kilos/324 lbs. Eventhough I already had my hormone treatment, they refused to operate on me because it would be too risky. I blamed so many factors, but whatever I tried, it didn't work.
I tried the gym, but I only seemed to get worse. I tried the help of dieticians, but my stubborn nature still had me grab the food I loved the most instead of the healthy options.

Funny thing... was that the thing that DID motivate me to work on it properly, was to hear I was going to face a problem if I would gain even more weight.

"You know," my father started, ".. the toilets in the house can only carry 150 kilos. If you're even heavier, they will simply break off of the wall."
This had me think for a moment, staring at him with big, wide-open eyes.
"So I wouldn't be able to use the toilets?" I asked him.
"No. They weren't calculated on such weights." he answered.

I could see myself, too fat to use a toilet and having to relief myself on a cement bucket with a board over it.
I could see myself like one of those people you see, unable to get out of bed, unable to move about on their own, having to call up TV shows to give them a freakshow episode of sorts, to remove a wall and use a crane to get me out.

I wouldn't be one of those.
I started looking around for a sollution, for proper help, and found it in a weightloss program (I won't say names, but it's a pretty famous one), which worked like a charm for me.

Based on No-carbs to low carbs, I started to lose weight. FAST. No, not the dangerous 'Too fast', and it's not a 'crash diet' either.
I'm under medical supervision, but the program did it's job. Drastically.

It's the first time I publish a photo like this on anything more public than for instance, privacy thick Facebook.
I'm still ashamed of how I once was, mind you, and thus this is a big step.
It's a before, and an 'in between' photo.

Before - After - Tussenstand 1 (30 kilo).png

I dropped further and further, and the lowest I have been has been 94 kg/207 lbs.
20160603_150256.jpg
As you can see, I felt very good in my own skin.

Its not the end of the line yet, but as you can see, it did change a lot for me.

I dropped from 147 kg/324 lbs to 137 kg/302 lbs in the first two weeks, and down to 107 kg/235.8 kg in four months time.
In this time, I wasn't allowed to exercise... due to a low calorie intake.
But there was a snag in the process.
For I had to stop when the doctors finally gave green light on my first Transgender-related operation (top surgery).
I gained a lot of weight again, due to absolutely having no movement in the recovery period, medication as well as having fallen into binge-eating due to emotional imbalance... (I'm a comfort eater).

I've started my diet again, and though it goes a lot slower now, I'm more motivated then ever to reach my goal.
In the past 2 weeks, I lost about 10 kg/22 lbs.

I'll keep you guys informed on the process. If anyone has any questions, I'll gladly answer them.

Greetz, and to those of you who wish to lose weight, stay strong!

~ Seth

Sort:  

Well-written! Good to see that you found the courage to post those photos. Keep it up!

Am keeping it up, man! We diet our way to the final goal!!!

19686728_10211100734968869_731961106_o.jpg