You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exhumation...

in #weird7 years ago

This actually made me smile. I think we only briefly glanced this topic. For the most part I agree. When I am done with my body I do not care what happens to it. I'm done. I care much more about the process to getting to death than the after death part. I would rather not be embalmed as I know it is poisonous to the ground.

At the same time, I have thought about various obscure scenarios that would make it so all of these bodies are considered for archaeology. What would the turning point be so that we become like to Romans to future civilizations. Yes, people are trying to prevent that, but it was not like the Romans thought they would fall either.

We can even go further back to Egypt, like you said, and they took steps to prevent grave robbers. That alone has spurred many to try to find the tombs. There is the treasure part too ;) For my part, I cannot be uptight about what is done with my body if I encourage/promote archaeology of the past. What makes my body better than those tossed in mass graves? I would like not to meet that fate, but I do not think my body deserves more respect than theirs. Good topic! ^_^

Sort:  

Thanks. Glad to see you active too, but you've been busy. :)