CHANGING THE DIALOGUE: MOVING AWAY FROM CALORIE GUILT IN FITNESS TOWARDS FOOD AWARENESS

in #wellness6 years ago

There is a tendency for fitness instructors to use guilt and shame as a motivators. This saddens me due to the fact that most people (including instructors) are unhappy with their bodies and use extreme methods to govern their bodies. As an individual who has recovered from two eating disorders and body dysmorphia- calorie guilt and body shaming are triggers for me, and if it can trigger me, then it can trigger my peers. I do not want to be guilted or shamed for eating foods that have calories because that is literally what food is made of or for having a body with thighs that touch, un-toned triceps, hips, a stomach, an ass, aka a body. As a Pilates instructor, I pledge to never promote calorie guilt or shame peoples bodies by changing my vocabulary in the classes I teach. I will never tell my students to “do another rep since Thanksgiving is coming up”, how many calories [fill-in-the-blank] exercise burned, and to actually explain an exercise rather than “this will get rid of your muffin tops”. Fitness instructors have no idea what eating disorders, body dysmorphia, or self-dislike students have/continue to deal with and need to stop telling students their bodies aren’t good enough.
So let’s change the dialogue and focus on how we can take care of ourselves and practice wellness through food. Specifically, what we eat and where it comes from. Let’s start a grassroots food movement by promoting Grow NYC Farmers Markets, Grow NYC CSA, local CSA’s, community gardens, and fruit/veg seasonality in classes. Changing the dialogue by promoting food locality/seasonality within fitness, instructors can encourage and popularize agriculture awareness and advocacy.