Automation - do you love it or hate it?

in #welovesteemit6 years ago (edited)

automation in home business.png

We live in an era of automation – push-button this and instant that. The home-based business industry changed abruptly in the last decade introducing lead capture pages, funnels, autoresponders … and a whole lot of other stuff we were told we needed.

So, I got my autoresponder. I learned how to build a funnel. I bought the tools necessary for broadcast emails, lead capture pages, tracking clicks and off I went.

The internet, with it’s promise of international riches combined with all these tools were sure to make us all rich right?

The truth about automation

All these tools are amazing. That is the truth.

But… they are tools. That's it.

I love that I have a sales presentation that works for me 24 hours a day, even when I am sleeping.

I love that my clients can download a PDF from me, anytime.

I love that I can reach thousands of people at the click of a button. That’s leverage!

I love that there is a way I can share my knowledge and value beyond the one on one’s from the “olden days” .

I love that some of the systems I use have “done for you” traffic and sales.

Systems are awesome. I love it!

But all this comes with a price. What it’s costing this industry saddens me.

I HATE that newcomers to the industry think that riches and success are just a push of a button away and this is what they are being sold on.

They are selling you on lack of action and work. They are selling the tools as the means versus selling them as tools to make your business run smoother and easier….Something you may or may not need depending on the level you are at.

Uploading a bunch of pre-written emails into an autoresponder is easy sure…. But if you are building long term clients and relationships, are you connecting with people who are interested in your offer? Only you can do that.

That snazzy blogging platform doesn’t brand you. YOU brand you.

Tracking clicks and conversions… awesome.. But you shouldn’t even be looking into that until you know what you are doing. There are many who are told to get tracking links yet they don’t even know what they are tracking, how to read the information they get and what to do with that information. Sad isn’t it?

And so the madness goes on and that’s how it started… my love/hate relationship with automation in this industry.

So a while ago, I decided to stop the madness in my own business. I sent out an email to my list announcing that I was turning off all my autoresponders! And I did. I have one email that goes out to new subscribers that let’s them know who I am, what I do and where to find me if they want to connect with me and then I try to connect with each and every person that reaches out to me.

I make sure that I don’t get too caught up in the automation, that I connect with the people I need to connect with.

Don’t get me wrong. As an Internet Marketer, I buy into the automation to make life easier. A laptop lifestyle is possible with the help of these tools but not because of these tools.

Something got lost in the message of outrageous goals and dreams that I believe in so much.

More than ever, I am dedicated to helping people leverage this wonderful thing called the internet to build a business. Let’s just keep the focus where it needs to be.

To your success and outrageous goals,

Tereza

Photo used is Public domain

P.S I am everywhere. Here are some other places I hangout. Would love to connect!

http://www.terezakumriconline.com
http://www.twitter.com/terezakumric
https://www.facebook.com/tereza.s.kumric
http://www.instagram.com/terezakumric

#welovesteemit