Sort:  

Oh, so that's what you do with a pig's head! Haha!

I live in a heavy pig area. My town holds fame for having the largest pork abattoir in the southern hemisphere... and I see pigs heads alllll the time at the markets. I couldn't help but wonder if people actually bought the things and what they would actually do with them.

Now I know! :D

The Corowa Piggery is the largest in the southern hemisphere, with 45,000 sows (as of 2010). The slaughterhouse/abattoir on the same property is the largest pig abattoir in Australia, with a capacity of up to 1 million kills per year. Well, now I know something new!
My grandma never made head cheese, or it surely would have been fed to me. She did make rinderwurst, which traditionally includes beef tongue and heart,and chuck roast, put through a meat grinder with pepper, onion, and oatmeal, to spread like a meat paste
on pancakes.

Oh, I actually didn't know about that one. Mine is located in a place called Kingaroy - after investigating, it's the largest pork processing plant in the southern hemisphere, not abattoir. Woops. (I blame this article for setting me astray)

Rinderwurst sounds pretty good actually. I'm not sure I can imagine it on pancakes, but, mmm!