A funny interview with @steemed

in #whales8 years ago (edited)

Interviewer: So how does steemit work?

@steemed: We have a budget. A rewards pool. We all vote for each others content to distribute the money from this rewards pool by voting for each others content. The more you invest in steemit the more your vote will reward an author.

How do I make money?

There are 2 ways to make money (3 if you include the interest you receive while doing nothing).
-One is to write posts.
-The other is to vote for posts.

How does voting for posts make money?

If you have a large amount of Steem Power, your vote is worth a lot to the author, but you also could gain a lot of rewards if lots of votes come after yours. This is your curation reward.

What if I don’t care about anybody but myself?

Well when the price of steem is low that can be a natural effect. If you went from being a multimillionaire to … not being a multimillionaire anymore then you might start feeling like reeping all the rewards for yourself.

Can I set up multiple accounts and vote for myself?

Yes you can. And as long as you’re the only one doing it, nobody will notice or even care if they do.

What if I’m not the only one?

Well then even better! Curation rewards can be even better than upvoting yourself for author rewards. You can form an alliance with another scam artist like yourself so that you take turns being the whale on the top. Each time you both vote on the same crappy content, one of you will reap the curation reward that the other gave you. Nice deal!

What if people start asking questions?

You simply flag them to discourage them and all the witnesses from asking questions.

Won’t that make them not want to use steemit?

Yes they will probably all leave realising this is a scam and there's nothing they can do about it and the price of steem will collapse and we’ll just sit twiddling our toes waiting until we realise this isn’t worth it anymore since the price got so low.

Don’t you care about your money?

My moneys all gone!!! I invested it in steemit and the price dropped. I’m just trying to make as much money as I can out of this before the whole thing fails!

But lets say you didn’t try scamming all the other artists and authors and just became a better curator… Is there no hope for steemit?

Maybe there is… But if there’s one of us whales who doesn’t have confidence in the platform then there’s no point in the smaller fish having faith in it. The only way I would stop would be if I were to be held accountable. Power should always come with accountability, but instead I’ve just been given this toy to manipulate and break because when we started this they hadn’t really set any rules just incentives and whenever somebody cries that this isn’t fair I can just say I didn’t make the rules and whenever somebody with greater power says lets talk about rules I can say no. There were no rules when I bought in and I like the game this way.

So how did you turn steemit into a scam then?

Well first of all, steemit was always a scam for me. I called myself @itsascam for fuck sake what did you all expect?! Secondly, the authors we pile on are all real. You can see that by how polite they are unlike me and @kushed. @kushed prefers to downvote things that contradict our authors making our scam completely obvious and then upvote every single comment of the authors so that we can afford to pay them.
We make sure to upvote all the other comments too so that it’s less obvious which accounts are meat puppets. I prefer bullying tactics. Every time somebody tries to figure out why all the rewards are going to the same crap writers I cry “witch hunt”.

Do you not believe in witches?

Of course not, witches aren’t real.

Then how the fuck does it have anything to do with bad whales like you?!

Though it should be blatantly obvious that this is a parody, it seems I am to make that clear. Sorry it wasn't clear when you started reading. That was just part of the joke. I hope you enjoyed it.

Please view my other posts to see the bullying tactics of some of the whales and follow me because I will soon be censored and nobody will see me unless you follow me.

Sort:  

two words: Open Beta. You only fix these things with a live network trying to game the system and thus letting others identify the tactics. THEN you iterate to fix this. Then you continue iterating until you have a functional an polished product that can be called the project ready for gametime.

How people do not understand this blows my mind.

This would appear to be part of that very process.

lol you should make it clear that it is a parody cos it is damn realistic.

It was clearaly parody but at a minimum parts of it depart from parody and into pure trolling such as "Because I’m a fucking self-contradictory hypocrite!"

Overall it is a continuation of an effort of some members of the community to attack others in a hostile and divisive manner which is harmful not helpful.

Am I to understand that if I remove that sentence, you would remove your flag?

You could try reading my entire comment.

censoring insults is legitimate, censoring satire is not. not even in the real world.
when the powerful can censor the minnow criticizing them this is censorship of the worst type.
flagging something because you simply don't believe it is helpful it is not in accordance with the flagging etiquette, especially when your flagging means censorship.

I did not flag it because of satire, nor criticism, nor because I simply don't believe it is helpful. I downvoted because it departs from satire into pure trolling and because I believe it is harmful (the latter being a recommended reason for doing so in the white paper and repeatedly practiced by the developers themselves).

I thought it's a real interview before reading.. I feel I'm played. Flag or not?

It's pretty obvious when you get to a point that it is a parody. It would not be as funny if it were declared in the beginning of the post and seemed pointless to declare it at the end. You were supposed to realise half way through, it's part of the parody. If you did not enjoy that aspect I understand. If you were offended by it, I understand.

flagged as trolling