A 33-year-old in a fandom of teenagers

in #whydontwe6 years ago (edited)

This is something I wouldn't have expected. 

 This image is a screenshot from Teen Vogue's YouTube post titled "Why Don't We Compete in a Compliment Battle".


I do love music. However, I used to not have a specific favorite artist until eight months ago. I recently created a post about finding Logan Paul online. With him, I also found the boys. My current idols, the Why Don't We band. This band is composed of five boys named Daniel Seavey (18), Jonah Marais (19), Corbyn Besson (19), Jack Avery (18), and Zach Herron (16). When I first saw them, I just thought of how young looking they were. The video I found was a few months old then. I've never really thought of them that much until I heard their song, "Nobody Gotta Know". Soon, I found myself replaying and replaying the music video. 'Ya girl got hooked, and from then on, I became one of the Limelights (the Why Don't We fandom). I even ordered the band merchandise that I've yet to receive.

Right now, it doesn't matter to me that I'm in my 30s and I'm fan girling over teenagers. This is also the first time that I've ever created a fan account for them. When someone told me that I'm too old to be a Limelight, I defended myself. 

This is a post from my fan account on Instagram @whydontwe_ladyknight

I fell in love with them because of their talent, specifically their vocal harmony which is their signature. The level of talent that they have is very obvious with the various mashups that they arrange themselves. The boys are also talented musicians. I mentioned those when I felt the need to defend them from a fan of a different band who doesn't see their worth. 

                                                                                               

This is a post from my fan account on Instagram @whydontwe_ladyknight


One would call me crazy, I think, why my attention was with these boys. But I'm happy to be the oldest Limelight there is. I get to see their stories on Instagram and as fan account keeper, it's my job to produce video and photo edits. I save their Instagram stories and re-post them on my fan account and I also create fan fiction. The boys are currently creating an album to be released early this year and I'm excited. 

When you've found something that truly makes you happy, that only means that you must keep doing it and that is supporting these young artists who are now living the dream that I used to have.