COMING SOON | A Wikileaks Data Autopsy

in #wikileaks5 years ago



WL-Viz-STEEMIT-MASTER-TITLE-PIC2.jpg

WikiLeaks | VISUALIZED

Wikileaks, like you've never seen it before.

Over the last couple of months I've been scraping the Wikileaks website and downloading all of the complete email sets I could get my hands on. After extracting the email headers and sanitizing the data I was then able to visualize each data-set by turning them into interconnected network graphs.

Each graph includes a search function and filter that helps to easily find and explore individual people and connections. The network graphs produced from this data help to uncover stories normally hidden from normal search functions. Below is a screenshot of the website I've built to host the network visualizations.


WL-Viz-Home.jpg


  • John Podesta

The first installment in this new project is an interactive network visualization of John Podesta's emails.


WL-Viz-Podesta.jpg


The graph is made up of several different colors. Each color references smaller communities within the wider network. For example, the green and blue colored communities to the top right-hand corner of John Podesta's graph are associated with his Georgetown email addresses and connections. The red community to the bottom left of the graph shows that he was part of an email subscription group relating to Hillary Clinton. Finally, the orange community nested within the inner pink cluster is a close network of senior Clinton staffers.


COMING SOON


This project is something I've been quietly working away on for a number of months now and I'm very excited to finally be able to share it with you all. I'm currently putting the last few finishing touches to the website which will be going live within the next 7 days.

This isn't the only project I've been working on. Recently, I've begun building multiple, fully-searchable, indexed databases that contain data dumps from a variety of sources including both the recent 9-11, and Integrity Initiative data dumps. More to come on this in a future update post.

Also look out for some new WL animations that I'll be publishing soon over on my other account @animate.




HUD-7-Operator-FLAT-FORT_2.gif

FORTIFIED

Steemit | Gab | Twitter

THANK YOU FOR READING

- If You Would Like To Help Me To Make More Great Original Content Please Consider Upvoting and Re-Steeming -

Sort:  

You always know how to make an entrance...
Welcome back friend!

Thanks. Just figuring out what's new.

Nice to see you back and amazing new tool! I am going to cover this tomorrow! Good to see your alive and well.

Hey pal. Thanks. It's good to be back. I look forward to seeing the video. The projects website will be fully operational within 7 days.

That's really nice !
I don't have the time unfortunately to dissect these things myself, although I'm sure there's alot to be learned in those e-mails.
I think it's great that someone goes through the trouble of making these more easily accessible and digestable.

Thank you for the kind words. Most of the time theres more than one way to look at data.

I love this! How can I help promote (everywhere)?

Keep an eye out for the launch of the website. Then feel free to explore and share the website. Maybe even write a post about it and the things you find.
Thanks

That is amazing! Props. This may be the tool many need to be able to brave the WL archival system. I know @richq11 might well find this an enormously useful tool, for one.

Words will fail to convey my appreciation, and my VP has been dissipated, but my SOP upvote for approved posts will still get cast, and my standard expression of gratitude will have to suffice, and follows.

Thanks!

Just checked your Gab account - interesting, so I upvoted till I, at least, doubled your points. Was worth the time it took :)

Also resteemed this

this is great!

what software did you use?

  • is there a freeware version
  • how was the learning curve