THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS VIDEO SERIES - EPISODE 16 – BROWN SNAKE

in #wild-man7 years ago

This is American Brown Snake, not the Australian one.


Though it has the same common name as the extremely venomous snake from Australia, this one happens to be different. The Brown Snake (Storeria dekayi) AKA De Kay's Snake is a small snake native to North America. It took me about 18 years to see my first one in the wild and another decade to find more up in Wisconsin.

Lately, down in Arkansas, I have been encountering them more regularly. They remind me of another small nonvenomous snake called the Red-Bellied Snake, but these lack the red belly.

For the most part, they eat worms and slugs, and although they have been known to grow to almost 20 inches long, most of the ones I encounter are 10 inches of less.

The information is the video is original but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 16

BROWN SNAKE


If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make it!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-brown-snake



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

mini snake is cute

Loading...

Definitely following! I love nature videos!

Pappa-pepper needs to see this ! :)
HDTHDT.png

aaaaaaaaaaawww. A little papita pepita.
@pappa-pepperJr
LOL nice image hahaha

too bad pappa pepper didn't see it

Some things just take time! (Plus, as a turtle, I may be a little slow...)

haha true :)

Yeah, that is one Old School Turtle Bro!

lol, I saw all your wild friends and i thought, hmmm ok let's do some photoshop :)

wow another very great wild man's wild friends episode :)
Love this series ;)
enjoy your day!

As Your Tag Line Says "Wild-man, Gardener, Encourager, Homesteader, Lyricist, Deep Thinker, Papa, Humorist, Husband" You are the Real Wild-Man of Wild Friends...!!! Love To See YOUR Wild Adventure...

Your videos are great @papa-pepper! Love them man! Reminds me to spanish "wild frank"

Dude! I love your WILD self and all them critters!!! I don't think I could hold the tarantula but everything else I couls! keep it coming!

Real Life Pokemon Trainer right here folks

Amazing video !! thanks for sharing ! STEEM ON !!

Nice? wait more

awesome freaky video as always hahaha balls of steel papa-pepper

Be careful ... hopefully the snake is not poisonous.. :D

Upvoted and Resteemed. That s a really interesting video. 😁

I used to have a pet snake. Sadly I live in South-Africa and the superstition here is not healthy for snakes...

Yeah, A LOT of people around here do not like them either.

Great post. I have not come across a brown snake in Texas yet. Plenty of kings snakes though. I'll have to capture some video soon. Thanks again! Keep On Steemin On!!

Yeah, go for it! Capture some video!

Great video. I get excited when I see snakes in my garden. I know they're naturally taking care of business with the varmints that I don't want in there. How do I get my wife to see snakes the same way I do? Any input or advice would be appreciated.

We have those in the Middle Atlas Mountains, too. They used to be in the shed every morning at a certain time of year - I think it is late spring and early summer

@papa-pepper
I see plenty here too. But just the naive one here in Arkansas.i wish we were like some states with no snakes but this is home. Take care. Upvoted my friend!

Way cooler than the Australian brown snake

Oh man! It's so cute! I'm a little disappointed I have yet to see any snake here in Central Oregon. Been living here for over two years now. We've got rattlers and I'm sure other small non venomous snakes. Too bad these little brown snakes aren't over here! Id be happy to run into him!

What is poisonous snake @papa-pepper ?

i thinks it was a baby snake, wow ist a very small snake

Great post @papa-pepper! And the snake is so cute haha! :D

I liked Episode 15. I had never see before these little creatures and enjoyed the video. Very good work.

I used to have a leopard Geko and then a Bearded Dragon named "Ozzy". The Beardies are great pet's maybe you can do a vid or post on one of those some time. Thanks for the post and video!

Source

wow, good one. Look so good. Are they edible? just incase I join your next thriller!! haha

I used adore snakes as a child and I even visited the Python Temple when I visited the Republic of Benin, where I played with a few pythons. The entire place was totally filled with Pythons of different sizes. However, my encounter with a cobra on the first day of July, last year left me with a dreadful feeling, when it comes to snakes.

Snakes make me nervous because I am always assuming they are venomous. But, note to self, this little brown guy isn't venomous so only freakout mildly if I see one. 😄
Great post, as always. You have a way of making creepy creatures seem less threatening.

Yes, a mild freakout would be more applicable.

This is the first time for me that i see a snake little like this.

I still have the "steemit like you mean it" song stuck in my head...
Screen Shot 2017-05-30 at 12.41.00 PM.png

Glad to hear it!

😂love it! You guys looked like you had a great time at that meet-up.

I am very scared of snakes, but I really like your posts. Upvote me yes. thank you
@atafauzan79

Its so cute and small! his face is smaller than your finger. :) I thought all snakes ate mice... thanks for clarifying that. How can you tell how old a snake is?

Ooh these are cute and beneficial!

@papa-pepper, you are so cool with that. I believe that is a non venomous snake, though only 10" long, it looks certainly scary. I am afraid of snake, venom or not.

I have read that there is a definitive method to distinguish venomous snakes from non venomous ones by the shape of scale and the face or something. Just thought to get my knowledge updated so that I can distinguish the snakes whether they are venomous or not, should I encounter one on my path. Knowledge certainly helps.

The name is pretty cool, De Kays! ahahah I support the brown in any species :P

So how is it going, Papa? I hope you and all the ones you even think of are ok.
I wanted to ask you, how much time do you put into the posts? just like an oh yeah couple hours sometimes even 8 or whatever is the longest it takes you.
I just made a post yesterday for a culinary challenge and I actually did put a lot of pictures and wrote and blah blah, but it took me HOURS! I mean at least 4 just to put it together not take the pictures and all that.
I really enjoyed it and I know I'm not super skilled with the computer so I wanted to know is that is something that happens.
And if anyone knows about making good posts is you!

Greetings from Venezuela, visit me to see if you like any of my post.

Interesting...I don't think I would dare handle a snake that way, even if they said it was non poisonous and tame. Thanks for sharing

Love the series man!

Cool, I'm having fun making it! Thanks!

Great post!!

What are you? Bear grylls of steemit?

As you are not afraid of them?

No reason to be.

Can I eat them
They look delicious 😘
I'll remove the venom before

That's a crazy little sucker! Been loving your post's lately so i did a Why to follow @papa-pepper post on you: https://steemit.com/follow/@surprisebit/why-to-follow-papa-pepper-a-look-at-the-best-of-best-of-steemit-author-s

Cant say I've ever seen one here in VA. Guess I'm just not looking hard enough. Lots of Rattlers though!

There are 2 pages
Pages