THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS VIDEO SERIES - EPISODE 48 – TIGER SALAMANDER

in #wild-man7 years ago

This is one of my favorite salamanders!


The Tiger Salamander (Ambystoma tigrinum) in the largest and most widespread salamander in North America, however, it is unlikely that you will encounter many of them.

A member of the mole salamander family, much of the adult life of Tiger Salamanders is spent underground in burrows. Their size and color make them a striking specimen when you actually do get the chance to see them.

A special thanks goes out to The Ridges Sanctuary & Nature Center in Baileys Harbor, WI for this one. While touring their sanctuary and nature center on Friday, they allowed me to remove this Tiger Salamander from its display case to use in my video. We had an amazing time both walking the sanctuary paths and touring the nature center, and I plan on featuring it in an upcoming post.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 48

TIGER SALAMANDER


If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make it!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-tiger-salamander



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Not for some species!

Are you finding all these animals in Wisconsin? I can't remember seeing half the amount of animals in southeastern Wisconsin. Are you up north?

Oh now I see Arkansas. Just confused!

Where in Southeastern Wisconsin? Some of that is pretty densely populated by humans, which can mean less amphibians and reptiles.

Definitely! I grew up near Milwuakee, mostly in Menomonee Falls. I enjoy your passion for amphibians and reptiles!

These last few have all been in Wisconsin. They have seven species of salamanders up here, of which I've recently shown two. Found a few snakes and frogs too. If it has the red "WISCONSIN ADVENTURES" at the bottom of the cover image, it is Wisconsin for sure, but some other ones are too.

Chances are as you say I will never see one, but at least now I have seen one and learnt a bit, thanks for sharing

You know best about animals @ papa-pepper
Tiger salamander is very rare and I have never seen it

Oh WOW😎 .You are a wild man papa -pepper!

it remain calm most of the times though.
But the thing is how you can touch and play with those Salamanders.

I wash my hands with just water first so that I do not hurt them.

Cute charmander! I mean salamander! Good job @papa-pepper! :)

That Salamander is awesome! You are super cool!

Wow that is one big Salamander! I've only seen very small ones before. They're very elusive to say the least. I'm surprised you were able to hold it like that. I've never tried catching or picking one up before.

The area I live in is home to a type of salamander called a Hellbender. I have never seen one up close and I've only seen pictures of them but they can grow to 2 feet long. They live in the Smoky Mountains in TN, NC, VA and some other eastern states.

I am familiar with HELLBENDERS, but never met one yet. I have caught a few Mudpuppies up here though.

Wow looks more like a lizard
But oh papa wow i'm suprised you not scared of anything at all. That's awesome

That is a chubby salamander. His colors are awesome, he reminds me of some type of shark or something. Very cool @papa-pepper.

They can be chubby for sure!

Would you like to see my bunghole?

He is closely alike of blue salamander @papa

Wow! another great salamander!
Check out my new post @papa-pepper

Thank you for sharing... another learnings! It actually looks scary for me.

Amazing, another great salamander.
Nice video dude.
Thanks for sharing

I love the Tiger Salamanders. We scour the vernal pools every spring looking for them but we don't see them anymore in our area sadly.

Luckily I get an Eastern and a Barred Salamander to play with at work :D

Cool! We are enjoying some great varieties in the Ozarks these days! It is nice to find some of my old friends in Wisconsin on this trip too.

Hey, @papa-pepper! Aren't all creatures your favourites? LOL I m glad your parents supported your childhood adventures. Without that support, you would not be who you are today and we wouldn't be watching these amazing videos!

They are all my favorites!

Good job, I appreciate your work, I hope to have your help on this and I follow you.

Papa-pepper is a unique and slightly horrible animal

TIGER SALAMANDER is a beautiful reptile, thanks to our wild man for teaching us about these creatures and thus remove the stigma we have against such reptiles

Salamanders are amphibians, not reptiles, but I know what you mean. It is good to learn about such creatures.

Thanks for the correction my dear bud aka wild man...I appreciate it a lot as my head is waco due to less sleep. You are doing a good job

We love the salamanders, they are very cute animals and it is great to see all their evolution, it is wonderful, thank you very much for sharing with the community, regards!

What the! I hate lizard! I'm afraid with that kind! Especially when their tail is cut and its moving alone!! Wahhhhhh thats disgusting.... ahahahahaha

These are not a reptile like a lizard, so the tails do not do that. These are the amphibian known as a salamander, though they do look similar to a lizard.

Ohhhh... thanks for that explanation... i just have a phobia in a lizard even this is look like lizard... really my hair at my skin is tickling me! Shaking!

Wow, it's so huge! It looks pretty calm in your hands! So it's ok to take them? 😏

Some people do keep them as pets. This one was on display at a nature center, although most of the ones I feature I find in the wild.

awww, I think that would be a very cute pet 😁

Salamanders are very cool, I really enjoyed your other post about the blue spotted salamander as well. :D I hope I see one on my property some time, blue spotted, tiger or any other kind, I'm not picky...it would just be cool to actually see one up close and personal. :D

Thanks for sharing and as always, have an awesome day! :D

A while before be moved to Arkansas, we actually located 5 out of the 7 Wisconsin species of salamanders in the same year.

That's pretty impressive, 5/7 is really good. :D I love your posts. They are the first ones I check out when I log into steemit. :D I always see something neat or cool in every single one. :D

Cool post not sure we have salamanders in the UK. I like this little dude though, thank for sharing as always :)

Congratulations @papa-pepper!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following category:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 9 with 343 upvotes

looks like you love animals a lot dear

A special thanks goes out to The Ridges Sanctuary & Nature Center in Baileys Harbor, WI for this one. While touring their sanctuary and nature center on Friday, they allowed me to remove this Tiger Salamander from its display case to use in my video. We had an amazing time both walking the sanctuary paths and touring the nature center, and I plan on featuring it in an upcoming post.