Sort:  

Hi @alfie-hart,

Awesome work as usual. I am always amazed how you report and film the competitions while you are actually competing at the same time.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com . This personal addition to my article is always one of my favorite parts.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)

Thank you @randomwanderings. I originally imagined I would post to Steemit primarily about the vegetable garden and I will continue to do so . . . however my freelance film work within the Windsurfing world took off more than expected this year with Windsurfing.TV and I found that little stories about the making of some of the films and events have made interesting reading/watching.

As far as competing at British events - whilst filming is tricky and this post kinda sums up the challenges faced. In fact this particular day I struggled to feed myself properly and had my lunch at 4pm!! having started a 7am!! I'm super lucky to have work in something I'm passionate about.

Thanks again.

Hi alfie-hart,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you @curie always a pleasure when you share ones work . . .

I admire all people doing any kind of water sports except of swimming as this is the only activity in water that I can more or less perform :)

Windsurfing seems so dangerous to me. I'm sure your adrenaline levels are peaking when you're performing. Congratulations, even though you didn't win. It's not always about the winning though :)

Thanks @delishtreats windsurfing is a wonderful mix of adrenaline, full body work out and learning about natures power!! It can be dangerous, although until you've gained the skills to sail in the waves it is a very safe sport to learn. Some of the worlds best are challenging themselves in ridiculous conditions and this is very very dangerous. In the UK during the winter time the added challenge of the cold air and water drains your energy levels much quicker than you think and this can lead to some very dangerous situations.

All in all though it is my workout, adrenaline fix and meditation - I love windsurfing!!

Surfing has always fascinated me, how you guys do these things and most times make it looks so effortless is just incredible, really. I can imagine how much love you have for windsufring, you've been doing it since when you were a kid?

You surf so beautifully, but I am sure it is not as easy as it seem but you do a great job with it...

Thanks @audreybits and yes most of us on the BWA tour have been windsurfing since the age of 10-11. Although most of us started on gear from the 80's and 90's so it was much bigger and heavier than today. Kids these days can start as young as 6 or 7 and by the time they are 10-11 there absolutely ripping!! The sport is young and the future is bright in my opinion.

Wonderful pictures, the photographer was really good, the sail, waves and splashes all amazing, does not look like in UK, looks much more warmer, like in Australia. Few years ago we lived in Haverfordwest and few of my colleagues were also guys very interested in windsurfing. I think this year summer was the best in the whole last few years and The BWA Avon event near Bournemouth must have had many visitors and participants. Thank you for reminding me my time in Wales, endless broad sand beaches and beautiful waves.

Hey @stef1 small world if you lived in Haverfordwest!! That is the same area I live and we still have a keen group of wavesailors chasing the conditions around the Welsh coastline. Do any of your colleagues still live in the area?

It is a truth the world is so small, I am really pleased to hear that there are few of your chasing the waves in Wales, I found Wales really beautiful country with its amazing and absolutely astonishing coasts. As doctors we are changing the hospital so often so we left Wales 2013, since then I am in Scotland, again at coast but Eastern, it is less attractive the Western part but less raining here. So all my colleagues like me traveling from one hospital to another till the training is over. Was nice to meet you :)

Windsurfing is an art ... A sport of much discipline, I can not imagine how difficult it must be .. To make all those movements in the rough sea gives me chills hahaha I loved your post, the photos the video ALL, A great hug from Venezuela @alfie-hart !

Thank you @naideth I agree windsurfing is an art . . . I see you too are a very skilled artist and with wavesailing you have a new canvas everytime you set off down the wave, flow and feel sends the brush strokes of the board and skill and techniques defines how long and fast your ride is. The result is a wonderful rush of adrenaline and some memories of being in the grip of natures power for that moment!!

Two of the top windsurfers in the world are from Venezuela - Ricardo Campello and Gollito Estredo, both insanely talented.

Thank you very much friend, very nice your words .. !! In Venezuela, windsurfing is very much practiced, but I did not know about Ricardo and Gollito, I am very happy that they leave the name of Venezuela on high;) Greetings

Congratulations @alfie-hart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Looks like a good weekend. Obviously it's more about the event for yourself, the comp, the night after and the enjoyment than just the win. At this level if your not fully prepared it's going to be hard to win so mid table isn't bad at all.

On a personal level I did my usual of giving priority to the film making, so when it comes to competing I'm pretty last minute grabbing my gear and sailing, no warm ups or changing gear, just go out there and have fun.

It's all about perspective and with your video we can all enjoy the weekend now. Thanks.