You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If You Had a Magic Wand and Could Change Just ONE Thing, What Would it Be?

in #wish6 years ago

This is a hard one. I couldn’t decide if I wanted to wish for something globally or something closer to home.
I decided and would wish for all 3 of my children with out a doubt know they are loved unconditionally by me, mom. Starts with one home I guess and than future generations would be less mentally unhealthy. Children deserve to know they are loved!

Sort:  

I think I like what you're striving for, here... It's also in keeping with the general truism that we need to take care of ourselves before we really can hope to do much to take care of the world.

I responded to your question from the car conversation I had with my oldest who is almost 15 yrs old. He mentioned his class had a heated debate on gun laws. His was response was simple but true. Before we take away all the guns we need to figure out what’s wrong with our society? We have become mentally sick as a society and it’s starts at birth.

Your son is absolutely right, and that's quite insightful. Clearly, it must be a cultural thing. The Swiss keep lots of guns (in fact, it's part of their "people's militia") yet they don't shoot each other with them.

I grew up in Denmark, and although there are far fewer guns there than in the US, people did have them. But the idea of shooting someone was culturally "unthinkable" at a level that totally does NOT exist in the US. So do we just have less respect for the sanctity of life? And if so, why?