You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open Letter to STINC and Everyone Else

I have a question and as it seems like your the only person on here to have the balls to speak out truth I want to ask you.

My money is powered up in steem power, should I power down and pop it into another wallet?
What I mean by this is my steem safe if they do decide to throw in the towel.
I don't really care right now about the value of steem as I have no interest of selling, but I also don't want to lose my steem as I feel like I have worked hard for it.

After listening to some of last night's mswaves I feel like steemit maybe through as stink has other things other that steem to work on.

As a concerned steemian I would like things to be as they were a year ago when everyone was happy, but it just seems that everyone is just getting pissed at one another over the value.

thanks in advance

@artonmysleeve

Sort:  

There is no other wallet. STEEM is on the STEEM blockchain. Whether it is in @artonmysleeve or @blocktrades it makes no difference if a coming cease to STEEM is coming.

Whether or not stinc stays or goes, the STEEM blockchain will continue to operate as long as witnesses continue to keep their servers running. The witnesses will continue to get paid in STEEM just as they always have. I believe enough witnesses will stick around so they lights will never go out.

Steemit and @ned have a lot of STEEM that they got in the early days when they were mining it, before they started the witness way of doing things. And, this huge amount, when dumped on the market will cause a huge drop in price. But, it will not kill STEEM.

Unless @ned has a buyer, there is no way to move his stash without dropping the market.
My worry is that @ned has a buyer.

So, it is a hard decision. You stay in STEEM and ride it out. Or you power down and trade your STEEM for some other coins via www.blocktrades.us (or one of the other trading platforms)

I'm stay buddy, I don't tend to go anywhere I just wanted to make sure that I didn't have to move my steem from my account somewhere else, don't want to lose it if you get me.
If @ned is selling off his steem which it seems to me like he is, and he has a buy, don't you think that the buy won't want it as the price will drop. it doesn't make sense to sell and lose all this that is going on.

Do you think stink is going to cash out everything and close the site? if so where else can I use my steem power in a fashion same as this?

thanks again.

The only thing stinc can close is steemit.com

If @ned drops a ton of STEEM on the market, it usually depresses the price.
However, this will do nothing to your STEEM. It will be safe and sound.

It doesn't matter who runs steemit.com, it is only one front end to the steem blockchain.

In all outcomes, your STEEM will be on the steem blockchain and only you can do anything with it. You have the private keys.
So, the only questions is whether steem will die. If steem dies, then everyone loses their steem.

If steem doesn't die, than we just use STEEM like we always have, however, the price will be much different.

STEEM does not equal "steem blockchain" does not equal "steemit.com."

In the worst case, you will just have to use another front end.

I understand it better now, cheers for this.

Before finding steemit I didn't know anything about crypto, if fact I had never heard of it before, so when someone says something is happening I often find myself thinking the worst.
I know of other people how are like me and they have posted similar things asking what will happen to their crypto and no one really answers it.
Thanks again for getting back to me.