I have started a witness

in #witness-category7 years ago

Hi guys!

To better understand how steemd works, I have set up a proof of concept witness using the Compute Engine in Google Cloud.

Here is my setup for now:

  • Machine type:  custom (2 vCPUs, 18 GB memory)
  • CPU platform:  Intel Ivy Bridge
  • Zone:                   us-central1-f

I didn't setup a seed node yet, as I hear is not really required.

The setup itself went very smoothly thanks to @jerrybanfield and his great explanations:
https://steemit.com/witness/@jerrybanfield/get-a-steem-witness-seed-online-today-with-these-ubuntu-linux-commands

I have had only one issue, having set the initial memory to 16GB, I discovered it was not enough.
Thankfully, on the compute engine console this could be remedied with a simple edit of the VM and increasing the value to the custom 18GB value.

Please throw in some votes https://steemit.com/~witnesses, just search for @bambache.

I don't expect to get very far with the current setup. If this proves lucrative I will engage in setting up a more suitable machine.

Cheers,
Bambache

Sort:  

Congratulations @bambache! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bambache! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!