You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To fork or not to fork? Is that even a question?

in #witness-category6 years ago

Hello @lukestokes,

You are one of my Steemit witnesses, and as such I hope you'll pardon this off-topic contact.

I'm here to inform you of a fantastic opportunity to promote STEEM.

Please check out the information in my article:

STEEM On Netcoins Contest: EVERYbody Wins!

I'm not looking for your vote or reSteem...

I am asking you to take action to promote this!
It seems clear to me that it will benefit the entire Steemit community.

Thank you in advance for your consideration!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Sort:  

You do tend to drop in with unrelated comments, huh? Heheh. Looks interesting. I went ahead and voted, but I am highly skeptical at this point that any mass adoption will come through that route. I spent about 5 years trying to get merchants to accept cryptocurrency via my company FoxyCart, and it's just too early. The protocols and user experience just aren't there yet.

Hi Luke,

Thanks for taking a positive, even if measured, response.

I understand your skepticism; however, I feel we need to keep chipping away at the avenues that are available. This particular approach seems promising to me because I have, at one time or another, tried pretty much all the others.

I realize that Netcoins is focused on Canada right now; perhaps they'll never make it to the US. Even so, for the sake of every Canadian Steemian (and I know many personally) it warms my heart to think that they one day may be able to walk into a local shop and spend their STEEM, or cash it in for fiat to pay a water bill...

I'd love to hear or read more of your FoxyCart story; have you written about it on Steemit? If you have, or if you do, I'd appreciate a link.

On the Netcoins thing; earlier today, STEEM was ranked 11th in that contest. As of this writing, it is now 5th, thanks to the efforts of Steemians rallying to the cause. And so, I'll close with this observation: If STEEM gets a (reputedly) $30K account with Netcoins for free, hey, it sure won't hurt anything, and it might just help... :D

I'd like to see STEEM have that chance. ;)

Thanks for not throwing me out on my ear for contacting you through this "side channel." :D

No worries. Thanks for working to spread the good word and help promote STEEM. You can read part of my FoxyCart story here and how I turned my code into a company here.