You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: r351574nc3 for Witness

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

You earned my respect a long time ago (well, some weeks :)). Now I can give back. Just gave you one of my witness votes.

Thanks for all the great work you are doing for the community. Have fun.

BTW: What costs do you have running the servers?

Sort:  

You earned my respect a long time ago (well, some weeks :)). Now I can give back. Just gave you one of my witness votes.

Ditto.

BTW: What costs do you have running the servers?

Whelp. I'll have to get back with you because my bills haven't come in yet. I'm paying $150 USD / month for my internet, but I don't really pay it because it's subsidized by work. My electricity is not though and I haven't seen the bill. I have a power regulator that says it's doing about 3 kWh which is about right because there's 4 x 1200 W PSU's. I'll have to do the math on what that is costing me.

I got my servers at a University auction. It department was auctioning old proliant servers. Some already had 1 TB of ram that they were using for their openstack farm. I know because I used work there. It cost me around $6k for what normally costs $20k.