Drakos Witness Update 07-08-2017

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)
The journey continues in the Steemian sea
We roam the waters proud and free
Plunder and gold await our hold
Another week sailed in the crypto world
Yarghhhh!

Witness Status

  • Yesterday my witness node missed a block. I promptly tried to check the server but it was unreachable! I tried to contact the provider but it was Sunday, so I didn't get a reply. As a temporary solution, I disabled the witness in my Steem account and quickly reconfigured my seed node to run as witness, until I figure out what was happening. Today, my provider gave me feedback and apparently the server suffered some system panic and was frozen, they had to reboot it for me. So now the system is back up and running. The seed is currently replaying and should be up in no time.
  • I'm currently looking for an affordable secondary VPS to setup as a fail-over backup, in case of a future witness crash. Currently the witness is hosted in Germany, so I'd like a location in a different country, in the Netherlands preferably.
  • I gained more witness votes this week, and now I'm up to Rank 53, was at 62 last week! Thanks to my new benefactors, your votes are appreciated. If you would like to vote for me, please check the footer of this post.

Help Status

  • It was a busy week in the help channel on Steemit.Chat. More sign-ups, therefore more delays and more user queries about their pending registrations. There are two new witnesses in town, @anarcho-andrei and @dimitrisp, I'm glad they have volunteered to give a hand in the help channel. This will ease the load on the rest of the active volunteers, like @timcliff, @pfunk and myself. Given the different users and helpers time zones, it can be frustrating for some users not to get help promptly. One user has voiced this concern, so I hope more witnesses would join our volunteer work in order to cover as much time zones as possible. Steemit.com is still in beta, and they have their hands full with the development. Until the day they streamline the sign-up process, we have to make due with this temporary "patch".

Witnesses are the backbone of Steem, they host the blockchain in the background, and I'm happy to be part of that.


Proud member and delegator of the @minnowsupport project.
Join us on https://discord.gg/GpHEEhV

MSPPAL


If you like this post, upvote and comment.
If you really like it, resteem.
If you love it, follow.

Follow
🗳 Check out my Steem witness application and vote for me. 🗳
Thank you.

Vote

Alternatively, you can issue this command in cli_wallet (after unlocking it)

vote_for_witness "YOURACCOUNT" "drakos" true true

Sort:  

Drakos, Thank you for your help on starting my Steem account. you the man

Would you like to see my bunghole?

Thank you very much for the mention! I like helping around when I have spare time :)

Now voting for you as witness @drakos.👌

Dat poem doe! 👌 ... i def read it in my pirate voice

I thought I'd write something fun today 😀

I'm happy to offer a hand. I knew I'd be taking on more responsibility as a witness when I decided to start a node, but I'm infinitely thankful for all the help you and others have offered in #witness and in DM. Keep up the awesome work, boss. You've got my witness vote :D

great post.

Thanks for share.

Try to write meaningful comments, or risk getting flagged.

I have a VPS I already pay for that I use for OpenBazaar, what goes into being a witness? I have been on Steemit long enough to know the term but still not fully sure what this does, but more are needed?

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@privex/so-you-want-to-be-a-witness-clearing-up-some-misconceptions

A Witness at this time requires about 12GB of RAM. Not that bad.

The hard part is getting votes and making your witness matter. You have to campaign, prove your worth, and convince large users (or a ton of small user) to vote for you as a witness to break even and start making money. Until then, it is all out of pocket.

You have to keep a server running 24/7 and constantly updated with the latest, stable version of Steemd.

If your network connection fails and you miss a couple blocks you witness will automatically disable and you have to manually re-enable it.

It is a lot of work

Ah, so it pays? I did not know this before, I was looking to just volunteer if necessary if I had the extra ability to do so on my VPS, if it is an investment thing, I will definitely be looking into this, thank you for the reply.

Yes, the witnesses are rewarded 1 SP for each block they generate, it's like mining.

.9 SP :) And top 20 gets about .18 SP. (btw the payout is constantly decreasing)

0.948 SP to be precise 🤓

.9 SP payment per block witnessed outside of the Top 20.

At 52 I was witnessing about 16 blocks a day. I just hit 50 yesterday and it looks like im on course to witness about 18-19 blocks today.

When you are position 75-100 you see very few blocks. When I first started, it took me 4-5 days to see 1 block. The speed it takes for you to reach ROI is dependent or your ability to get the votes taht matter.

I recently wrote a post about voting for witnesses, you might want to check it out, I briefly explain what witnesses are and how to vote for them. You can also check my witness application, it contains the specifications of my node.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by drakos from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.