Witness Block Production at Steemian.Info

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

factory

Following a suggestion by @firepower to add a column showing the daily block production for each witness on https://steemian.info/witnesses, I found it to be a good idea (I was afraid to disagree because he would blast me with his firepower 🤣). However, I felt it would encumber the page since there's already a lot of information in the witness table. So I decided to create a separate page with data solely related to block production.

Behold, Steemian.Info is thus bringing you a new exciting page:

The Witness Block Production

screenshot.png

The page is at https://steemian.info/witnessblocks. It's also accessible from the home page and the navigation bar (Witnesses/Witness Tools/Block Production).

Features

  • Today, yesterday and monthly data for 2018.
  • The current monthly production is ongoing and is cached daily. Today data is updated with a browser refresh.
  • The position is based on the received votes for the listed witnesses who produced blocks for the shown periods, it does not necessarily reflect their blockchain ranking.
  • Disabled witnesses are shown in red and crossed out.
  • The time periods are expressed using the blockchain UTC timestamps.
  • Best viewed on a desktop browser with minimum 1000px width.
  • The table is sortable by clicking on the headers.

Keep in mind that the blocks produced do not have a 1:1 equivalent in reward. In fact, the Top 20 witnesses are rewarded with 0.199 SP (Steem Power) per block, while the rest of the witnesses get 5x that amount, which is 0.995 SP. The reward slightly varies; months ago it was around 0.970 SP.

For example, a witness generating 20 blocks per day:
20 blocks x 30 d x 0.995 SP = 597 SP/month (or 7164 SP/year)

Whereas a Top 20 witness gets rewarded for 1 block every 63 seconds, that is:
(60 s x 60 m x 24 h) / 63 s = 1371 blocks

Which is a monthly:
1371 blocks x 0.199 SP/block x 30 d = 8185 SP/month (or 98220 SP/year)

Because of the varying nature of the reward as well as the STEEM market prices, I didn't include those in the table.

Finally, I think it's a good tool for witnesses to monitor their progress. For instance, if a witness is producing 2 blocks per month for the last 6 months, perhaps they need to re-evaluate their strategy and expenses.

I hope you find the page useful, enjoy.


Available & Reliable. I am your Witness. I want to represent You.

🗳 If you like what I do, consider voting for me 🗳

Vote

Check my guide about Voting for Witnesses.
Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses. My name is listed in the Top 50. Click once.
Alternatively you can use SteemConnect to vote for me or set me as proxy

Sort:  

Okay, so this rocks, first of all. Way to make an already excellent tool (steemian.info) even more awesome. Second, I mistyped the link the first time, and I got your 404 page, and ohmygod did it make me laugh. lol! ;-)

ROFL, you have no idea how much I enjoyed making that 404 page. I spent my day staring at it.

Freaking hilarious. You get the award for Best 404 Page Ever! 😂

Sucks though that Chrome have disabled autoplay in the newest versions. I'll try to find a workaround for that. Otherwise, the 404 page plays fine in Firefox and other normal browsers.

i agree, best 404 page on the net..... I howled laughing the first time i found it.

Hello.... that is awesome.

You made me curious... now I wanna see it too! Thanks :-)

Edit:
Hilarious indeed... made my day!

Loading...

I always wondered how profitable witnessing was.... Its "holly crap profitable." Haha.
Thats why some witnesses are super nice. Haha

It's interesting that outside of the top 20 it seems to be about 1 block / day per 1,000 MVests worth of votes. Obviously it's not exact, but it seems to be surprisingly close throughout the list.

Thanks for yet another useful tool @drakos!

You are a person making an outstanding effort
You really are very successful
You are like me here
I wish you all the best
I am a voice for you as a witness I invite everyone to vote for you

Well done @drakos! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - England vs Panama
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Do you like the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Thank you for the interesting information!
( I would be happy if you could take a look at my latest post:)

Well done @drakos! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Japan vs Senegal
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Do you like the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Anything to help the Witnesses in their valuable work is a positive in my book. Thanks @drakos, for all you do.

Fantastic work with this and thanks for doing it dude! It'll be helpful for everyone witnessing the blockchain.

And helpful for those who like to whine about the witness rewards. Although we're a far cry from EOS block producers rewards 😅

We're light years away from that lol! #55 there makes some 1K+ a day which is ridiculously insane. I could power a shit ton of marketing activities around Steem blockchain in India if it was the same here. lol

It's an interesting tool! I could try it and see how it goes, thanks for the information :)

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 33.53% upvote!
I was summoned by @drakos. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Thank you for this amazing piece of information. I wrote a piece on Seele's amazing Blockchain 4.0 here https://steemit.com/airhawk-project/@foley/seele-blockchain4-0-vs-existing-blockchain-technology an upvote from you would be nice. Thank you

Thanks a lot for creating steemian.info. I've writen this post about adding steem dollar to binance and I think it's important for all the community. I voted for you as a witness two months ago and I hope for your support, thanks.

@drakos what is this? plz tell me sir? i want to work with you propprly plz tell me some thinks about steemit

information are usable.
can you tell me more info about how to increase steem power ? @aaatish

You can increase Steem Power by blogging and getting upvotes (you can upvote yourself too), or buying STEEM and powering up.

Good day @drakos! How do you think are witnesses need to share their profit with people who voted for them?

Thanks for sharing! A link to your post was included in the Steem.center wiki article about Steem Witness. Thanks and good luck again!

Wow! You made a new page @drakos, it must be incredible that feeling to see that you did a great job. Congratulations!!
the more detailed information is better and the most important

- The **position** is based on the received votes for the listed witnesses who produced blocks for the shown periods, **it does not necessarily reflect their blockchain ranking**

Go for it now. The future is promised to no one. Wayne Dyer

Excellent work, @drakos! We thank you!