You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to vote for a witness and why!

@williambanks I love your post
there are so many posts that says vote for this witness
but what is a witness? It doesn't really explain much and for a newbie - it could sometimes be confusing.

I love it that you pointed out - they're the guardians of the block chain and we actually owe them not experiencing cybil attack anymore. Not to mention the fork .. and so many other things.

Voting for a witness is a way of saying "I support your work. I like what you're doing and I want you to continue doing it."

I totally agree on this, and I also carefully chose my witnesses. If they really show concern to improve Steemit (which you could only see on how they write here or perform or the programs they create or support so we'd grow ... even how they upvote posts - I take that in consideration, too .

I vote for them ... I haven't voted for many yet, how many are we supposed to vote? Anyhow, I'm looking forward to your post! Again, always glad to find you posting again :)
Have a great weekend!

Sort:  

Wow! Thank you so much for the kind words. I'm really glad the post was thought provoking. You have a good point about the sybil attacks. I was considering mentioning that as well, but decided to hold off since that's a difficult one to explain to new comers and this post was already pretty chock full by the time I was getting around to it.

You have a great weekend too!

@williambanks it's actually S i was wondering why it was underlined red while typing "cybil" - damn .. wrong spelling wahahahha
thank you now I got it right :)

Lol, I never even noticed.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sybil_(1976_film)