You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Be the change you want to see in the world - my voting explained (+ free bot)

Could not agree with you more. I believe investing time and effort into solving this 'problem' is a crucial thing for the long term value of steem. If steemit is to be the next big thing in blogging and social media, then it needs to be a platform that people find fair, sensible and rewarding. It will be crucial for long-term steem investors to get this right.

I myself try to mostly reward fruitful relationships. I observe who is genuinely interested in my journey and who wants to tag along. Have therefore focused mainly on interacting with, and upvoting, those who comment constructively and thus play an important role in making this platform more positive to engage on for old and new users alike. Which I think is the long term formula for success.

Sort:  

That's perfect. More comment voting is a great way to speed up distribution.

Indeed. But I think it's not only a good way to distribute rewards, but also a better long-term strategy if all you want is profit.

  1. It helps you obtain a base of regular readers and supporters, people who not only upvote you once, but come back and give you more of their own voting power.
  2. By investing in good relationships and in those who follow you regularly, their votes on you will increase in value over time, allowing you to scale nicely over time.
  3. As mentioned in my first comment, by investing in genuine and fruitful contributions, you do help make steemit a more attractive platform, which can increase the value of your steem earnings as the price of steem goes up thanks to more people entering - and staying - on the platform.

Anyways, thank you for your effort to make steemit a more enjoyable platform. I hope I will be making positive contributions to the development of steemit as well.

I up comments when the author has no posts - its also a way to reward the author and let him drink in the cup of rewards

you hate the trending page?
solution : stop looking at it (just kidding)

I'm glad you wrote it out there! At least people could get an idea - not every huge SP account owners see eye to eye with how it is - - a chink of hope :)

for the essence of spreading love - resteemed!

@pharesim I'm about to implement, with the help of @jimitations, a comment-voting project to encourage more community involvement and engagement. It'll be small at first, but will hopefully grow into something that can help minnows reward their commenters.

completely agree with what you're saying, genuine comments and interactions are what deserve to be upvoted and rewarded.

Very much agree with your approach. When voting I try to reward @ 100% when someone obviously put a lot of time and effort into a post. If it is just a photo of a meal or a cup of coffee, or something churned out quickly, then I use the slider. For comments, I like to reward cleverness, thoughtfulness, and insight.

In addition I use tools like SteeMVP to make sure I pay special attention to the blogs of those who vote often for my contributions, or those sea mammals who have shown me generosity. I have also identified a few fellow newbies, newer than I am, who impress me and who I would very much like to see succeed on Steemit.

It would be extremely helpful to me if there were an option on Steemit that would allow a user to identify "favorites" and have a feed option which displayed them.

I most definitely go along with the idea of favourites. It would keep the posts you most wanted to see in your feed for longer

Since you've spoke about fair. It's not how little you get paid for your post, you still do. Where else you can you get that, but that's not the topic. That notion of fair/unfair. It is annoying when you see those totally bullshit/crappy post collecting money from the reward pool and you can't beet through the noise :) I could go out and do a photoshoot and make more than in a month or two on steemit. I could shoot a wedding and earn more than probably i will never make in a year of posting. Not at least now. But that lack of fieriness just like everywhere else... Why does greed has to poison everything. Damn human nature :)

You nailed it. It is human nature. Greed is good and every man for himself.....and aslong as you have the power and money to back that up, you win.
But that's not good.
I learned a long time ago that you actually do much better when your focus is on others, not just yourself. The whole 'pay it forward' idea does actually lift you up as well...
But damn the human nature. We will fight it till the day we die.
Take care friend!
Peace!!

Not everybody has the capacity to see that far but you can't blame them. All men are created equal but are not the same. Peace to you too man.