gtg witness log

in #witness-category5 years ago

What have I been doing lately?

  • Running Steem on a low end, 32bit ARM machine.
  • Keeping an eye on the steemd performance (including MIRA).
  • Participating in testing Steem Proposal System a.k.a. Steem.DAO.
  • Talking to exchanges.
  • Helping people with stolen password recovery or those confused about their passwords and keys, especially after the social/wallet split in condenser.
  • Convincing (yes, because apparently you have to ;-) ) various entities to upgrade their various nodes to v0.20.10 after latest release.
  • Making Steem.Chat great again (read: suck less than Discord)


Full HD video rendered exclusively for my witness updates

Performance

In the 5th episode of Steem Pressure series - Run, block, run
we checked if after crossing the 30M blocks mark we would be able to replay the blockchain fast enough to catch up with the head block in a reasonable time.

With the upcoming MIRA, I hope it will be viable to run steemd consensus nodes on 8GB RAM instances or maybe even less powerful ones?

Steemd on a low end ARM?

Yes!
… but not yet.
I was able to build and run a slightly modified steemd v0.20.10 on a 32bit ARMv7 Processor (v7l)
… at least for a while.
You can get a binary steemd-v0.20.10-armv7l here: https://gtg.steem.house/get/steem/

Some simple changes have to be made to the code to make it build, and these changes are related to stacktrace handling or non-SSE blake2 implementation for the PoW purposes.
And patience. A lot of it, because this CPU is slower than many smartphones used these days.

I can’t reach the head block because of some obstacles. There’s not much point circumventing them before MIRA (as some of them wouldn’t be relevant anymore)

I’ve synced up to 1M blocks in about 4.5 hours.
The speed is not great, and even if it stayed at that level (it won’t) and there were no other issues (there are), it would reach the head block within a week.

Seed nodes review

@timcliff and I have compiled an up-to-date list of nodes and have been running tests to check their reliability.
Kudos to all seed node providers for their service!

Steem.Chat

Making Steem.Chat great again.
A long awaited update recently became possible after 1.0.x version finally became stable.
It was pretty big: 979 commits, 4226 files changed, 194042 insertions, 152984 deletions.
On top of that, we use some minor patches that are not included into upstream release.
Thanks to @followbtcnews for hardware resources and assistance.

If you want to have your Discord server bridged (two-ways) with one of the Steem.Chat channels, feel free to contact me to set it up.

If you want to check how it works, take a look at the #MspWaves-Audience channel on Steem.Chat or its corresponding channel on the Discord server (I can’t provide a link, because, you know what Discord does) ;-)

State of Steem

Produced blocks32,645,593
Accounts1,270,184
Blockchain size194 GB
Consensus state size50 GB


If you believe I can be of value to Steem, please vote for me (gtg) as a witness on Steemit's Witnesses List or set (gtg) as a proxy that will vote for witnesses for you.
Your vote does matter!
You can contact me directly on steem.chat, as Gandalf



Steem On

Sort:  

I know this is an old post and you may not read this, however, I wanted to thank you so much for the generous (read as huge!) upvote on my post for the #MarketFriday Air Show.

It is truly appreciated.

Size doesn't matter. Manual curation effort does.
Thanks goes to @acidyo's OCD efforts and all of their curators :-)

When I got up this morning, I saw ur huge upvote for me! Such generous gift!

Thanks so much for supporting me❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

My cat told me to do that ;-)

Wow, thanks to your cat🐱

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lowering the cost to run the full nodes increases Steem's decentralization, thus making the blockchain even more robust. Great work to everyone who put in time developing and testing Mira.

That's a lot of work, you're so productive @gtg. Also, Thank you for supporting my recent blog. More power and success!

I’m just here to give a few hug tokens 🤗🤗 And say thanks for all you do!

Thank you :-)
The only tokens that are working better off-chain ;-)

Thank you for continuing to support the Steem blockchain!

Making Steem.Chat great again (read: suck less than Discord)

Very good idea, @gtg! But it is not a really good idea, to bridge the cackling echo chamber of Discord to the steem.chat.

That's mostly selfish me, so I can take a look at popular Discord channels without having to use Discord site.

Really sophisticated! I'm glad to get back the steem.chat pretty soon!

It's not hard to make something suck less than Discord ;p

Posted using Partiko Android

Shadow worker popping out to the light. Thanks for your work @gtg

Likewise, I just saw your SteemReply!

Thanks for continuing to support the chain.

You have done a lot of good work. Thank you for your hard work in developing the Steemit platform. I voted for you. Good luck to you

Это колоссальный труд! Не даром я выбрал Вас в число своих топ 30 свидетелей.
!dramatoken


Such drama, you've earned a DRAMA!

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

I see youre still going strong. Not sure what most of the text above meant. Just browsing, saying hi to folks. :)

Is it some auto generated question? Because it doesn't make much sense. Unless you don't care about the answer.

If I understand well, you are asking about the maximum possible block size for Steem (voted is 64kB, max possible currently is 2MB), and yet "worried" about blocks not being full.

Worry not, despite our lows, we are right now in top 3 given weekly average of operations per day.