You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Be the change you want to see in the world - my voting explained (+ free bot)

in #witness-category7 years ago

If the minnows only knew about their power...

Would you mind elaborating on that? I'm sure if YOU say it, it will mean a whole lot more than if I say it. Not very many listen to a small fry like me.

Sort:  

Just what the title of this post says basically...
As an example, see the current posts by sweetsssj and kingscrown. They have 1000 votes each. That's not just whales.
Every vote cast for a small user takes away a bit from the rewards of the trending authors. The common notion "I am to small to change anything" leads to apathy, same as in politics probably.

THANK-YOU! That is what I was hoping you meant. Instead of attempting to ride the gravy train (and probably not succeeding anyway) by voting only on whales, people could be voting on their fellow minnows and supporting each other. This is the original intention of the platform and by creating these 'communities' of mutual support, everyone rises up together!

ddeu i really get astonished by the post i see of minnows where people thank them and they do not upvote them ...( i was confused i thought thats how you show your love) i always upvote with love !!!!! all day !!!!!thanks for your words brosef!!

I feel like I just won a lottery! Wow! Thanks so very much! This brings me just a little bit closer to being able to reward the little community I'm trying to build with another 1 cent for each of my votes. Every cent counts because they do add up!

I @mammasitta just opened this new account to spread different kind of vibes and topics like my personal blog I really enjoy since June 2016 and also to see, how it must feel to be a minnow again [my kind of experiment :)]
Its tough!
I like your approach and advice because we all can make changes. I am quite curious how I will do with such new account starting August 2017, a very different dynamic these days.

Well, us minnows should make a habit of voting at least 5 posts we like each day, even if it doesn´t give anything to the author, just for the sake of supporting good content. I´ll spread the word about that. But a bigger problem is that I believe that on steemit content is way too disorganized for people to effectively find much fast. A lot of good posters become increasingly buried in the post tsunami(Postnami! can i make that word a thing?). Well, at least its that way for us minnows who don´t make it to the trending page. Also,some followers are generally lazy, since they only vote on post thay can skim in no more than 2 mins... That makes for some lazy reading habits.I have faith in the long run for both steemit and myself. Cheers!