I produced my first block as witness

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

image.png
I successfully produced my first block as a witness today. With my current rank (screenshot from steemian.info), I will produce a new block every fourth day.

Witness activity

I released beem version 0.19.37 and I improved the full-node report layout from @fullnodeupdate.

Estimating my next witness slot

Using beempy from beem, I can estimate my next witness slot:

beempy witness holger80

image.png
virtual_time_diff shows the virtual schedule time difference. block_diff_est is the equivalent block count and time_diff_est is the equivalent time to the next block producing slot.

So I have some time to relax. The witness schedule page https://steem.bitcoiner.me/schedule/?c=show200 seems to show wrong results:

image.png
I continuously monitored the output of beempy witness holger80 until I produced my first block and I can confirm that its output is accurate contrary to the wrong output of bitcoiner.me.


If you like what I'm doing, please consider @holger80 as one of your witnesses. You can use steemconnect.com for approving your vote or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and enter my name into the vote field:


image.png


Sort:  

Congrats @holger80 ! Will give you a vote.
What does it take to become a steem witness? Hardware wise and skill wise mainly
Cheers!

Thank you for the support!
You need a dedicated linux rootserver with 64 GB RAM and a 200 GB SSD.
It is recommended, to have a backup server. As I'm producing a new block every second day, I do not need a backup server yet. In case of failure, I will disable my witness for maintenance.

You should have some linux knowledge and know how to compile something.
It is important to monitor the server, as, on failure, the missing block count raises.
A witness should also update its price feed regularly, based on the STEEM/BTC price from exchanges.

Besides the hardware and the knowledge, a steem witness should contribute something to the steem community.

Thanks for quick and detailed answer! Being a developer myself, i'm interested in that kind of stuff.
Good luck for your vote climbing!

Gratulation! :)

Gratulation 🎊 gut gemacht.

Würde Dich gern mal die Tage zu Beem sprechen wollen

Danke, Du findest mich im beem discord channel: https://discord.gg/4HM592V

Congrats! well done @holger80.... it's exciting to get that 1st block isn't it....haha. Very happy for you :D