You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Witness Update - Help fix the SBD peg!

Having the SBD price high is a huge benefit for authors, a huge opportunity for visibility on exchanges, and consistently puts buying pressure on Steem which is very good for all of us. We might be unwise to try and force the price down because "we think it should be lower" while most of our community is very excited to be where it is. After reading this post I am going to ask both witnesses biasing feeds to remove the bias.

Sort:  

Thanks for your response @jerrybanfield! As most of the top witnesses have not set a price feed bias you may turn out to be correct, although I do still feel that it's overall not a good thing for the Steem platform.

All of these benefits that you mentioned are great, but they should be coming from a higher STEEM price and not from a higher SBD price. So i'm not saying that I don't want higher rewards for authors, more visibility, etc, I just don't think this is the right way to go about it.

We might be unwise to try and force the price down because "we think it should be lower"

It's not that we think it should be lower - the system was designed for it to be lower. Just look at the dollar values shown for post rewards on SteemIt.com - even though they are in SBD they show $ as the unit. This is because it's assumed that SBD roughly equals a USD.

So overall I agree that it's nice for us right now, and I want all the same things for the platform as you, but I just think this is not the way this was designed to happen and it may ultimately cause more problems down the road and I think we should try to get on top of it now before it's too late.

But I will say that i'm definitely open to the possibility that I'm wrong, so I will state my opinion and trust in the fact that we have some great top witnesses who will form a consensus about what is best and steer us in the right direction!

That kind of goes against the idea of the US dollar peg then though, and against the job explicitly set out for witnesses to do what they can to maintain this peg.