You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blockchain 101 - Why double producing is bad

First of all, I have to say that I am extremely happy that I decided to follow you. The first time that I met you was during your post on raising the dust vote amount. So, I'll just come out and tell you the truth, I really only followed you so that I can keep up with any more crazy ideas that you might have. Now, however over the course of the last week or so, I am really beginning to realize that you're doing the best you can try to think of ways to solve problems here. Not only that, but you're probably one of the smartest guys and I've met here and my short time. So, I would like to thank you once again for what you're doing. And like I said last time, you deserve to be paid for your work, so I am hoping that you will accept payment for this post. And I have been thinking about this since the last time. You could take, say half, or any amount you decide, and just hand it out to people in the community who you deem Worthy or that need it. Or however you would seem fit, it's your money. Just an idea to throw out there. Now, on to this post. This is probably the best, simple, explanation of the blockchain that I have ever heard. And I appreciate you for the simplified explanation that you offer. I also think that it is a great thing that you explain the potential issues with double producing. And as far as how easy it is to be able to become a witness due to the simplified processes, I never realized that this was the case. To me, I agree with you, and I think that this is a serious potential for abuse. And while they removed the old punishment, have they not installed any new form of punishment for double producing? And also, is there any way that you guys(witnesses) keep track of this, so that if it does begin to happen it can be stopped quickly? Or is it something that potentially could be hidden until it caused a serious Fork? I ask you these questions because lately as I have gotten deeper into the steemit "behind the scenes" there are a lot of things that concern me. When I first arrived here, I thought everything was happy-go-lucky. I now know that this is not the case. I have enough concern that I have stopped investing my own personal money, and have only been gaining money and SP here through authoring and curation. I appreciate any response that may be given in regards to my questions. And I would like to tell you to keep up all of your great work. I think that you were doing good stuff here and I believe that you deserve encouragement. So thank you so much again for what you're doing and I hope that you have a wonderful week. As always I send you and all of yours all my love until we meet again.

Sort:  

Haha, thanks :)

As far as the punishment for double producing, it is an easy way for a witness to loose witness votes. It is pretty easy for other witnesses (and anyone else who is running a node) to detect it, as it shows up in everyone's logs.

The majority of the time, it just ends up with a "micro fork" - which is basically a fork that lasts one block. As soon as it is the next witness's turn, they pick one of the blocks, and everyone follows. While it is still possible for someone to get tricked in this short period of time, it is a fairly common practice in cryptocurrency to at least wait a few block confirmations before considering something "final" - which should protect against this as long as users/apps are following this best practice. (Some still might not though, which is why it is still best to avoid even a micro-fork as much as possible.)

Thank you sir.