You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ⚠️ Rip-Off Alert ⚠️ @jerrybanfield Is At It Again To Rip People Off

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

"How could someone make a honest mistake"

Does former alcoholic cover why I think there's reasonable doubt? Or should we go further?

"especially a witness who is supposed to be an example"

Generally speaking, I agree, but he is trying to make it right. Perhaps Jerry's true value is not as a role model but simply as a marketer.

"definition of a scam"

Charging a higher price than you like is not a scam. Knowing of a cheaper service that exists does not make it a scam, either. Otherwise, Whole Foods is a scam.

I'm arguing for not running him out of town, FYI, not that he didn't make a mistake (again).

Sort:  

trying to draw parallels between something completely is a logical fallacy (False equivalence)

It is not a general case it is a foundation entry point for the platform and implementing some high paid "feature" will only further claims against steemit as an MLM/Ponzi

It is a scam if you work somewhere or have access to services or products and approach customers without the knowledge claiming your service is quick and easy and a great deal this is misleading information to make a profit i.e a scam

I notice you getting votes from @jerrybanfield is this pay to put this kind of unbased spinning in defense?

"trying to draw parallels between something completely is a logical fallacy (False equivalence)"

Only if it's false...if you don't like the analogy, discard it. But Jerry was doing the same thing - charging more for a very similar product.

But, since he was doing it the dumb 30SP way, it did cost something like $35 per account, plus the risk of chargebacks on Paypal. Not a great moneymaking scheme, is it?

"implementing some high paid "feature" will only further claims against steemit as an MLM/Ponzi"

Agreed, that's why I've called the idea dumb at every opportunity. I'm not willing to say it's malice yet, however, nor run him out of town.

" claiming your service is quick and easy and a great deal this is misleading information to make a profit i.e a scam"

Well, the service might have been quick and easy. We won't ever know. Whether that speed and service made it a good deal is subjective.

It's not a scam, but again, I grant that it's dumb and suspect.

"I notice you getting votes from @jerrybanfield is this pay to put this kind of unbased spinning in defense?"

Oh yeah, he put me on auto-voter for like $1.25 a month ago purely in preparation of the next-time he would put his foot in his mouth.

If you want a non-sarcastic answer, I've commented for miles on his posts for 4 months and probably voted him more than he's voted me back, so if I'm moonlighting as paid PR flunky than I'm not very good at it.

I don't mind that you asked. Fair to call out the connection.

PS - I'm not sure these two can coexist: "unbased spinning". However, yeah, I think I am being pretty unbiased. I have a history of defending whoever is getting dog-piled.

it is false trying play the Jerry as some sort of victim who doesn't have control being a former alcoholic this isn't a sound argument,not based in logic or related to the topic at hand.

When you have coverage with followers and very "rep" a high ranking in witness there is no way something like this should be given any chance he was fully aware what he was doing no matter the spin you try and put it

his offer = False Representation of product or service.

there are laws on this in most country's + Scam ICOS let + widespread copyright infringement will as soon as blockchain law is in full effect bring down a mountain you dont need to add from the top

"it is false trying play the Jerry as some sort of victim"

I guess it's a good thing nobody is doing that then.

" this isn't a sound argument,not based in logic or related to the topic at hand."

I'm glad I'm not making that argument.

"he was fully aware what he was doing"

Do you have evidence of this? I didn't think so.

"the spin you try and put it"

Innocent until proven guilty is spin now?

"his offer = False Representation of product or service."

He gave you a price and a service. What was false?

"In law, fraud is deliberate deception to secure unfair or unlawful gain, or to deprive a victim of a legal right."

Can you prove intent to deliberately deceive? What was the deception?

It can't be just price.

I guess it's a good thing nobody is doing that then.

you seem to be strongly defending

Do you have evidence of this? I didn't think so.

he claims to have don research and sell guides on steemit anonsteem is easily seen in app center also wouldn't be too difficult to find information on steemconnect

irregardless of this he posted over a month ago mentioning annonsteem

Meet Steem's Top 10 Witnesses

He gave you a price and a service. What was false?

Can you prove intent to deliberately deceive? What was the deception?

Can you prove intent to deliberately deceive? What was the deception?

what false and deception was claiming it was a legitimate alternative to the free signup with a significant markup when there was no cost if he wanted to help the platform would have done for free like other witnesses

"you seem to be strongly defending"

Fair enough, it's part of my job (I'm a lawyer, among other things). But I'm not Jerry's lawyer, I just want to set the record straight.

"irregardless of this he posted over a month ago mentioning annonsteem"

Not to be snarky, but irregardless is not a real word - it just means regardless.

As we've said several times, I wrote and proofread those witness posts. Unfortunately, most people missed it.

From Jerry's Post, "Meet Steem's Top 10 Witnesses":

"Thank you very much to @lexiconical for doing the research to make this post possible! Almost all of the text in the "Meet Steem's Top 10 Witnesses!" section of this post is directly from @lexiconical's research and is his writing. The text before and after this section along with the video is my contribution. We decided to do this after I had the idea and asked if he would help with the research. I am giving @lexiconical all the SBD from this post in exchange for his contribution which saved me hours of research and allowed me to directly present it here in this post as well as in the matching video!"

"claiming it was a legitimate alternative to the free signup with a significant markup when there was no cost"

See, we get into the weeds here, because I think this wasn't a good idea for a service either. But, some important points:

  1. He was using Vessel, which makes the accounts cost 30 SP, I believe. About $33.
  2. He was accepting fiat (Paypal/Stripe). If you've ever used Paypal, you know you have to charge more because there is a lot of fraud and Paypal automatically sides with the buyers and seizes money. Google it.

I am only arguing that this is not a scam, not that it was a good idea. If Jerry only knew about Vessel creation (because he did not proofread my witness posts - watch his YT video, he doesn't mention what I wrote in it), then you can see that after Paypal fraud expectations, there wasn't much money to be made here.

Makes it all the worse of a business idea, but again, not a scam.