You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To fork or not to fork? Is that even a question?

Yeah, I think waiting a year is far too long. Maybe quarterly is a good approach. I don't have direct relationships with exchanges to know what they are willing to accept which, to me, seems like the main limiting factor with required upgrades. Hopefully the modularization of appbase allows us to make changes without exchanges needing to do a full replay or upgrade. We'll see, I guess.

Sort:  

I would hope that what ends up being good for the STEEM blockchain, ie, hard fork or updates of any kind, would not be impeded by exchanges, but that it would be considered a good thing by them too. I don't know. There should be a happy medium between massive hard forks and tiny ones where all are fine with the replaying. If appbase is the answer there, wonderful. There just seems to be one thing that prevents something from happening. Is that one thing that stoic or important, or can it adapt, modify behavior, whatever? I don't know. Honestly looking for solutions and answers that don't end up with ill will and most people locked out of the system, or so limited that they might as well be.