You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A fundamental change to my witness voting behavior

I don't self vote (check steemreports). This has been discussed at length in many places by myself and others. It can't be stopped because of game theory dynamics and Sybil attack concerns. Many don't understand this and get frustrated asking for simple solutions to very complex problems.

SMTs will have Oracles which may allow for 1 person, 1 vote. This would involve some form of KYC or identity management (to prevent Sybil attacks) and it would be opt in. That, I think, will be the answer for those who want vote strength based on proof of human over voting weight (which tries to get close to proof of brain).

Sort:  

Very cool. That probably is much more technical than I can comprehend at the moment. I'll be checking for self votes as I get more into voting. Cast my first 5 votes last night, and you were definitely one. Keep up the good work.

Do you mean self voting specific to witness voting or in terms of content?

I meant upvoting one's own content. To me it cheapens the space if someone can upvote their own content and earn income from the blockchain regardless of community support. Maybe I'm thinking wrong though...

I agree with you which is why I don't vote up my own content. I leave it up to the community to decide the value of my content. If I didn't think it was valuable, I wouldn't bother posting it.

I'm late to this thread since I've only been a user for just over a week, but I'm finding this conversation very helpful. Above, you say that [self votes?] can't be stopped due to game theory dynamics and Sybil attack concerns. Do you have any pointers to posts I can read explaining this?