Steem-in-a-box now using Low Memory Mode (witness users please update)

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

For those of you using my Steem-in-a-box, I have now split the docker image into two. I split the images earlier this month, however it seems Docker Hub wasn't properly saving my image updates.

Low memory mode will allow your witness to use much lower RAM and shared memory by ignoring the contents of posts and comments.

This update is not mandatory, but it will greatly save you some RAM.

Other note: Please be aware if you are using a witness in full node mode, we've just surpassed 12G shared memory, so if your witness has crashed you must adjust your shm_size and shared-file-size, or install the latest update and replay.

Don't forget to disable your witness or switch to a backup, as you will need to replay!

  • Use ./run.sh install for a standard low memory (Seed/Witness) node
  • Use ./run.sh install_full for a full (RPC) node, including SKIP_BY_TX_ID and CLEAR_VOTES turned OFF

Remember to replay after installing the updated image!


Do you like what I'm doing for STEEM/Steemit?

Vote for me to be a witness - every vote counts.

Don't forget to follow me for more like this.


Have you ever thought about being a witness yourself? Contact me on STEEMIT.CHAT, or just ask in the witness channel. I'm happy to guide you! Join in shaping the STEEM economy.

Are you looking for a new server provider? My company @privex offers highly-reliable and affordable dedicated and virtual servers for STEEM, LTC, and BTC! Contact me on STEEMIT.CHAT for more information.

Sort:  

Thanks for the heads up, updating and replaying now.
Update: Mem[||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||6.76G/15.7G]
Down from 12.2GB! That's UUUUuuuuge.

Thanks for the update!

Will try to setup a witness this week... thanks for sharing

ok

witness users please update

Good post thanks for the info. Upvoted followed u

can do it for android OS?

I'll pretend I didn't read that.

iPhone should work. Buy an iPhone and get back to me.

Don't forget to turn it off on the plane.

Seems like a great update for witnesses and there servers
Thanks for the update someguy

witness-me-gif-6.gif
Have an upvoat

Great info. Thanx

Thanks for that information !!
I use the translator to understand you
I liked your post
I follow you!! ;)

Thanks for sharing this update!

Updated my seed node, and it's working great! Thank you!

Done reindexing, elapsed time: 3307.20483299999978044 sec (55 minutes)

thanks for this update @someguy123

Just did. Have you thought of making your own coin? I've been reaching out to investors and Charles from Cardano... I have an idea for a utility that can be utilized in many industries. I need the right team!

Please don't drop your links on other peoples posts... I've flagged your comment because of this, as it counts as spam.