You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @TimCliff's Updated Witness Application

in #witness-category6 years ago

Well, it is not a get rich quick scheme. If you are interested in making money from the platform, it usually takes quite a bit of effort. The bigger earners on the site are typically people that have been at it for a while. It is something that you can succeed at and make decent money from if you put the work in though. I've been here for about a year and a half, and I started out not knowing anybody (or earning any rewards) when I first started too - so it can be done :)

As far as resources, I suggest that you first check out the "Welcome" page in the main menu. I actually helped put that page together :) It is intended to help new users get started on the platform. The section near the bottom that has 'helpful posts from users' has a lot of really good info. In addition to that page, there is also the FAQ page, which has a lot more in depth info.

If you have any other questions, let me know. I'm happy to help :)

Sort:  

Actually I feel like you've pointed me in the right direction --thanks! I will check out those resources and get back to you if I get any questions. :D

Although, something does come to mind: I've upvoted a lot of stuff since I first got here, but I see many of those things don't go up in "earnings" in any way --some even remain at USD 0.00. :( Why is that? I know I am doing something wrong, just don't know what it is.

It is kind of frustrating, because if this "curating" isn't giving rewards to me or the people I upvote, will upvotes from others help my stuff? :(

That is actually covered in the FAQ, but the short answer is because you don't have much Steem Power. The more SP you have, the more your votes are worth, and the more you earn through curation.

I thought we were given a bit of something free with the account --was it not Steem Power? If it was, it was very little of it then, wasn't it? :|

It was, but it was very little.

Oh, okay, well I hope I'll learn to earn that Steem Power soon then! Thanks @timcliff

:)

BTW is it okay that I upvoted my own comment up here? ^

It is allowed. There are differing views as far as whether it is good etiquette. Lots of people do it though, so it is up to you.

Also, when should I upvote stuff? How do I know if it is gonna bring --anyone-- any rewards?

time to go check those tutorials out eh? OMW! xD