You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to vote for a witness and why!

Thanks for the compliments @solarguy
Many witnesses do make a report about once a week. Some don't and those are ones we should really be looking at carefully. @dantheman was mentioning in a recent blog posting that some people may have forgotten they are even running a witness node, but they stay in the top 50 because people have forgotten that they voted for them.

I consider that situation to be very bad. Witnesses have a responsbility to the the blockchain, but individuals have a responsibility to the community to know who their voting for and why. They should assess and re-assess their votes on a regular basis.

I tend to do mine on the first of the month.
I do wonder if there is an easy way to see who's witnesses are performing well and not missing blocks or broadcasting wild price feeds etc.
I know you can go one by one through them via the commandline.

Maybe what we need is a regular weekly "meta-witness" report.

Sort:  

I totally forgot. I was aware of who i had voted for but now that you mention it I want to change some votes.

I really like @timcliff and @jesta, solid folks great updates and they really care about the greater good though I don't always agree with their decisions i respect them. Some others I like too. But i have certainly taken some votes away. I don't know if you're a witness I can't see you on the list.

Whats happening to my home ><

I'm not a witness, but voting for @viva.witness is the same as voting for me since that one is under my control.

As for how to see all the witnesses and not just the top 50, the only way I can think of is to loop through the entire accounts list and look for people posting price feeds since that's a witness only activity.

This works too https://steemit.com/created/witness-category