Yabapmatt's Monster 1-Year Steemiversary Witness Update

I usually try to post a witness update at least once a month, but I missed getting one out in July. So, to make up for it, I have a "Monster" witness update in store for you, including a big personal announcement.

It is also very fitting that today is my 1-year Steemiversary! I absolutely cannot believe how much my life has changed within a year and it is all thanks to the Steem platform and the amazing community of people that are on it. I am not a spiritual person, but I don't know what to say other than that I feel blessed to be a part of this with all of you.

Witness Nodes

I figured I should start with the basic witness update stuff first and we can get to the more exciting news later in the post. Despite not being very exciting, running witness nodes to produce blocks consistently and reliably is the primary responsibility of being a witness, so it is important that my supporters know what I am doing and how seriously I take that responsibility.

First of all, I am currently running three 64 GB witness node servers, with fast, high-bandwidth connections, in three separate geographical locations. I have also recently set up a seed node at seed.yabapmatt.com.

I am also now spending a portion of my witness earnings to pay someone highly qualified to help run my witness nodes with me. Before you ask, no, it is not @someguy123, though I do very much appreciate all that he has done for Steem witnesses over the years.

This is not because I am not capable of, or do not want to run them by myself. Highly critical systems are not often run by a single person, but rather a team. Given how important it is that witness servers are kept up to date and running at all times, it only makes sense to use some of the earnings to get extra help to make sure that happens.

As a result, my witness nodes were updated to 0.19.11 and subsequently 0.19.12 almost immediately after those updates were released, and I expect them to be updated with similar speed in the future and remain highly available through any issues that may arise. I don't generally feel the need to make a post every time I update to a new minor version, but you can always check what I'm running at https://steemd.com/witnesses

Lastly, I am working on offering a public RPC node as well. As someone who runs numerous services that utilize the available RPC nodes, I understand how important they are to the Steem ecosystem, and I am very thankful for the work that has been done to improve the speed, scalability, and cost of running them.

Full Steem Ahead

Now let's move on to the good stuff. I am very excited, and to be honest quite nervous, to announce that I will soon be leaving my day job and will be transitioning to working on Steem projects full time!

The job I am leaving is a really, really good one, and the decision to leave was extremely difficult. I have a family to support, I will need to pay self employment tax, get my own health insurance, lose a number of other benefits of having salaried employment in the US, and all this while crypto prices are at lows for the year and it's unclear if or when they will recover.

So, yes, I'm nervous, but they say that Steem is the blockchain of opportunity, and that opportunity is knocking. I'm going to go out on a limb and answer it.

For all of you - the stakeholders in this platform - that means you will be getting a lot more for your witness vote. By voting for me, you are saying that you would like to keep me working for the Steem platform. The more votes I have, the less likely it will be that I need to take on other work outside of Steem to help pay my bills.

I would also like to be very clear that Steem is the ONLY blockchain platform that I will work for. Not EOS, not Ethereum, not [insert random overvalued platform here]. Steem.

I will do whatever I can, and as much as I can, to make this the best and most successful blockchain platform it can be. From ensuring reliable block production, to discussing or proposing potential hard fork changes, to supporting projects, to building awesome dApps.

In addition to Steem Monsters, @aggroed and I will be launching some new tools for the Steem blockchain which we think will greatly improve the way you interact with it. Stay tuned because the first of those should be released in the very near future!

See You at SteemFest!

Many people have asked me if I plan to attend SteemFest this year in Poland. Assuming you've read the heading to this section of the post, you already know the answer is yes! I'm looking forward to meeting many of you in person there, and to my wife no longer being able to complain that we don't travel anywhere :-P

I want to also give a big thank you to @roelandp for organizing the event, and politely request that next year he hosts it in the northeastern US. I'm not a big fan of international travel :-)

Thank you!

Thank you so much to everyone who has worked with me and supported me over the past year. My first year on Steem has been nothing short of life-changing thanks to you...and to think that I was only doing it in my spare time. I absolutely can't wait to see what the next year will bring!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

@yabapmatt, congrats on a lot of things. Congrats on completing a year. Congrats on boosting your witness up into the 20s. Congrats on a killer game that's helping to expand the Steem blockchain. It's a pleasure and an honor to work with you, and I'm looking forward to some of the next block changing tools we have up our sleeves!

This is a great update, @yabapmatt!

Out of curiosity, are the servers co-located in various countries or all in N.A.?

Also, I voted for you a couple of weeks back because you are killing it here!

Keep up the excellent (crazy busy) work, and well done on taking that leap of faith to really sink your teeth into something you truly believe in. Opportunities like this don't come around very often.

Cheers,
OFI-sig.JPG

All different countries, only one in N.A.

Glad to have you on board full-time, and congratulations on the one year anniversary. See you at the festival 😁

Kicking out another witness to vote you in. Love the update, and the work you're doing on Steemmonsters.

I couldn’t be happier for you, Yaba! It’s been obvious to me from the beginning just how hard you work for this place — your contributions here are already hugely significant and only continue to be ever more so. Thank you for all that you do! ⭐️ I do hope this shift to full time Steem will prove to be rewarding — I’ll be supporting you with all I’ve got...though my pennies be few, my heart is tremendous. 💜🙌🏼🌿

Thanks zippy! Your heart tokens are most valuable to me!

I would also like to be very clear that Steem is the ONLY blockchain platform that I will work for. Not EOS, not Ethereum, not [insert random overvalued platform here]. Steem

This is really a deep gut and a loyalty speech. I really admire people who are hardcore for steem blockchain (steemhardcore) - anyway, I invited that. Lol
If I haven't done the needful, I will ensure I give you my last vote...
You deserve it from us to support you and also to encourage your doggedness to the steem chains and many others in that category.
Thank you @yabapmatt

DUUUUDE!!

DUUUUUUUDE!

Haha that was my placeholder comment when you mentioned the announcement on air. I finally had time to read it and saw all the other cool stuff too.

Well hopefully i also make it to @steemfest

Also i'd like to say as someone who has been successfully self-employed for 10 years it's a ton of work but I would never ever want to have a job again. The thought makes me shiver... and the thing is having a job is much easier. But i think you know that calling to create and make a difference is in you!

Voted for you yabapmatt, thanks for these updates.

Thank you! I really appreciate the support. I've only come across your blog recently but you write some really awesome, no BS stuff. I especially liked your Just Do It, Now post. Very motivating, especially as i'm really starting to "just do it"!

I appreciate it. I wish good fortune on your new journey! Looking forward to Steem Monsters!

I would also like to be very clear that Steem is the ONLY blockchain platform that I will work for. Not EOS, not Ethereum, not [insert random overvalued platform here]. Steem.

That the best line of all. Some witness working on other chains always seemed like a conflict of interest,
And that why you have my vote

First, great job on the new Steem Monsters site. I'm definitely looking forward to the start of PvP. It's the reason I started supporting your witness a few days ago and I'm glad I did after reading this update.

Since I've been hearing a lot about the lack of public RPC nodes, I'm curious if you have a ballpark estimate on the cost of running one?

It has typically been as high as $600 - $1000 or more per month, but now with Appbase/rocksDB/etc I think it can be done for considerably cheaper, so that's what i'm looking into.

Congratulations @yabapmatt, I would wish you the best of luck but we all know you have amazing skills and you don't need luck. Your going to do just fine my man!

Big decisions! Sometimes you have to take a leap of faith ;) Steemmonsters would suffice, but even more convinced after reading this post: you have another witness vote here. All the best!

Congratulations!! SteemFest Sounds like a whole load of fun, hope we can manage to get there some day :)

Congratulations matt! Seems that we joined Steem at the same time.

Crazy how time flies, eh?

Wish you all the best in your future endeavours!

Thanks @therealwolf - us August '17ers have to stick together :-P

I wish one day I could say I go full time on a blockchain project too!

You guys are building the Steem 2.0, the following months are going to be EPIC! (and I'm glad to be here to see that!)

Wish you the best for this big step ;)

Your side chain project is really incredible, and I can't wait to have more time to get into it with you and launch some cool things on it. Keep that up and you'll be full time here in no time!

WOW!!!

WOW because:

  • 1 year Witnessing!
  • You have don all this work next to a JOB?!
  • You're taking a very brave decision! To need to support a family must have made this decision a 'nail biting' one, but you made it, which shows your complete trust in this Blockchain (which I do too!)
  • You will be able to spend all those hours this roughly tripling your work hours here?
  • I will meet you at SteemFest! Yay!
  • I completed my regular card collection today and I'm so happy :')

Congratz on it all! Looking forward to all that you are going to offer to us next to what you've already been offering! My Witness vote for you will stay put - hope a few people will consider voting as well :-)

An anniversary celebration and a life changing event. Congratulations to soon not being a worker bee and going full steem ahead! I only wish the best for you and your family.

I don't know the inner workings of witnessing, but running three servers and a seed node sure shows dedication to me. On top of that, you added value to the Steem blockchain by co-creating @steemmonsters. I would hope others see beyond the 'marketing occupation' to the community-mindfulness and support you give to others. Plus new tools on the way! You deserve to be part of the witness team leading the way ahead, not simply an interested party. Make some waves at SteemFest!

Thanks @beeyou! Definitely need to get you out to a #steemphilly meetup one of these days!

It would be fun! I know the guys really enjoyed meeting you and everyone there. It’s challenging with the meetup being on a workday but I will try to make it one of these days. There are only a few witnesses I fully support and luck has it that you’re also the witness for our geographic location. :)

Many won't realise it bit this is big news for the steem ecosystem. Good luck with your transition to full time. From what I have seen you have nothing to be nervous about. Your dev work is top notch and your skills will be in high demand for years to come.

Congrats @yabapmatt You have done so much for Steemit. Working full time the skies the limit :) I know it goes against the decentralized nature of this platform but there are some voting bots that need taken down. @steembotup is dead and just collecting unwary Steemian's Steem and @brotherhood is not operating as advertised. What can be done in these situations?

Thanks for letting me know. Steem is decentralized but the bot tracker site is not. I will look into those and take care of them. Feel free to PM me on Discord if there's anything else.

Congratulations! I think you are doing an amazing job as a Witness! I think you will do Epic things as Steemmonsters can be as big as Cryptokitties or Pokemon for that matter! I love the game and what you have done

Thanks @clove71! Really glad to have you on the team!

Congrat @yabapmatt ! You got my vote this week :)

Thanks man, I really want to get the gold dice from Mene but they keep selling out before i can snag them! Will be my first precious metal investment!

I will keep an eye out for you! Currently the platinum dice are in stock if you are interested.... https://steemit.com/mene/@goldmatters/want-to-roll-the-dice-mene-platinum-dice-back-in-stock-for-now

Congrats man! What a huge decision to leave your job and pursue the blockchain full time. You definitely picked the right one to go with that’s for sure. Wishing you continued success as a witness and all around value-adder to our awesome community.

-Ken 👊🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

@yabapmatt is deserving to be voted as one of the witness. he has done so many things in steemit world and somehow encourages a number of users to be more active in this platform. He simply gives excitement esp when they initiate of having a steemmonster tournament (tho it has not yet started but the buzz is on and many were talking about this game. kudos to you bro!

Keep up the great work!!

You already had my witness vote, but I can guarantee you will never lose it if you keep this promise...

Steem is the ONLY blockchain platform that I will work for.

That means a LOT!!!

  • Congrats on 1 year!
  • Congrats on SteemMonsters!
  • Congrats on getting out of the rat race!
    • If you need someone to randomly do and say stupid boss things to you, I might be available... haha
      Wouldn't want you to forget what it was like to be a slave to the J.O.B... haha

You're awesome Yaba!
<3

FYI @booster is offline and I think only doing smartsteem upvotes. Also the links on your front run the bots don't work correctly. Not a big deal just thought you should know since it's hard for you to keep track of so many bots.

Happy anniversary to my firstvand most cherished witness. Keep up the good works.

Witness vote has done for you. Wish you a very happy 2nd year anniversary..

Witness vote has done
For you. Wish you happy year
Anniversary

                 - masudratul


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

great, the success ahead

Hi sir,
I want to run upvote bot.. But I don't have any idea how to setup and I don't have technical knowledge also so please guide me how yo setup bot and run it on #steembottracker.com

Congratulations Matt! Keep up the good work and we're lucky to have you on Steem full time!

If I can help in any way, please let me know.

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @aggroed from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

You got my votes :)

Congratulations ..
God bless you more and more..

Hi @yabapmatt I'm a bot, and wanted you to know that I've upvoted and re-steemed your post to help you with your promotion efforts! -exp

Felicidades Dios te esta vendiciendo @ yabapmatt

Muy buena descripción bro!, me gusta como escribes

You got a 69.72% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @postpromoter!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

My Vote for you.
Helllo @yabapmatt, the owner of steembottracker.
I am using your services from this forum for a long time. I send 4.311 to @smartsteem for upvoting my post but still I am unable to recieve any upvote or refund from him. I also send him message but he did not respond, so kindly solve this issue because you are owner of steembottracker. i am waiting for your positive response. thanks.
Here is proof of transaction.

Voted for you yabapmatt too,Really appreciate. Thanks for these updates

Congratulations @yabapmatt!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 9 with $ 170,27

Thank you for the update. You have been in my list - voted - for some time ago I could not even remember. Happy Steemniversary (such word exists right?) 😉

Whoa!!! You are an incredible guy, I see that you have worked hard to get far and you deserve it, I sincerely hope that the time you have ahead of you is twice as good as the time that has passed and that your projects achieve a success that marks history in this community. On behalf of myself and my family, thank you for your support in my first article.

Congrats all across the board dude. We haven't known each other for very long, but you're clearly out for this blockchain's best interest. It's so easy to get caught up in administrative/technical mumbo-jumbo when you're carrying heavy responsibility, but you leave room for the fun stuff too (like Monsters).

I think with the great technology the Steem blockchain harbors on the back-end, it's important to keep the 'storefront' looking appealing to newcomers and investors. You manage both. Keep up the awesome work dude.

Wow! Congrats on many levels and best of luck as you jump full-time into the waters of Steem! You've been one of my votes for a while, but I might need to add you to my rotating witness footer, as it occurs to me you haven't been featured yet and you totally deserve the shout out. Done. Thanks for all you do to make the blockchain awesome!!! 💖

Good news @yabapmatt

Thanks for sharing this

Hopefully you'll succeed in all your plans and your projects will sustain musicians/art as well here via steemit

Regards

There are 2 pages
Pages