Steem Budget Proposals/ Witness Update/ Witness Server Upgrade to 64GB: Future Proof

in #witness-category6 years ago

Before we begin please go read Steem Budget Proposals Whitepaper!



Witness Server will be Upgraded to 64GB On a dedicated Server: Future Proof


With all the issues, that we have been having with steemit and the expansion of steem running a 32GB Witness server seems far fetched now.

Checking up in the witness channel on steemit.chat I have noticed this and many issues with the size of ram current witnesses have and many have over 16 GBs of ram a couple months ago that was thought to be enough for another couple more months, now since steemit is ever growing at a much faster rate, 16 GB is no match for its growth, Sure a 32 GB upgrade would be sufficient ... but for how long?


64 GB server Maybe 100 GB?


I have decided to fool proof my witness node server , and decided 64 GB is a good amount to maybe run for another couple of months.

The reason being is steemit is not even at half a million users and even than, only half of those accounts are actual humans and active.

By the end of this year this is how my server room will look like for steemit alone.


So I have contacted @privex, @someguy123's crazy cool company among other services. To have my Node Server upgraded up the *** with gadgets!

Here is my new Witness Server stats:
Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Dedicated Server
32GB DDR3 RAM
2x240GB SSD
Xeon E3
20TB BW
consistent 1gbps


I have missed 11 blocks so far due to an outage and the min threshold being super-passed already.
Need to get a hold of my witness server and maintain it much more closely, I will be installing a kill switch with the help of @themarkymark.


Please previous update here

Sort:  

Hi

Good job.

I've had 96 Gb RAM on my Witness server from the very beginning. Would it help at all to have anybody vote for me too? :)

Don't take me wrong, I appreciate every vote that I've got, and awesome (but poor) people behind those votes, although unfortunately it totals up to pretty much nothing yet.

Anybody else can see a potential and show some trust?

good topic
Completed in this path

Thank you :)

Nice post bro..Thank you for sharing..👌👍

I've also perused the witness chat and seen how the RAM requirements are starting to scale up...rather quickly.

Maybe we can fund a solution with a Steem Budget Proposal! Thanks for plugging Jerry's article I worked on.

Jerry has a right mind set I like the propsal idea, seems as though HF20 is a flop. Yes the Ram Threshold is growing at an unstainable rate.