You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let us the Community take Steem Governance into our own Hands!

in #witness-update5 years ago

I think this is exactly what we need, so that we are finally a decentralized community.

This makes me wonder; there's been a lot of talk about community already for a long time, but we're still relying on Steemit Inc. Is this because they have said that they are developing SMT's, Hivemind etc.? And these things that Steemit Inc is expected to deliver, is it correct to think of them as an base infrastructure that the so called 'community' can then create their dApps on top? But we don't really need to wait for Steemit Inc. to deliver the code, right? What's stopping it to do ourselves? If I got it right, that's actually what we're going to try to do with the SteemCommunity on Github.

As for myself, I don't know what kind of part I will play on this new mechanic, but regardless I will keep close eye on it, because I think this can be the thing we need when further decentralizing the blockchain and not rely on Steemit Inc. for the success of Steem.

Sort:  

In the past every time someone had an idea like this, the general response was something along the lines of "Yes, great idea, someone needs to do this. But I, I will trust in Steemit Inc. to do this. They have the stake, they should do this." and then Steemit Inc. said nope and the issue was forgotten.

So my hope is that now, when the fear of a Steemit Inc. powerdown and cash out is more real, there is more motivation for people to do something themselves and not rely on a magic godfather to solve all problems.

Even in this thread many appeal to Ned as the person who should or will do X and Y. Often times things that are not on their roadmap. And that makes the community lazy. So my goal is to give people hope and motivation to build something they can call their own.

@reggaemuffin I agree this timing is Genius!

JUST WHEN plans LONG in preparation have a plan and the excuse to be put into motion (steemit power down), there is created the ultimate SPARK for what really must be done ( Steem Community DAC).

I also think we can simply cut steemit account from a fork, OR create an entirely NEW BC, based on multiple others that have learned so many lessons, and give a full YEAR to airdrop across many other chains, to simply include those that would participate and contribute to a new internet, that creates a new way for a human being to exist, earn a living and contribute to a new global grass roots society, of and for, by individuals using the tools of liberty to secure their freedom and liberty.

GD, I do NOT SEE ENOUGH PEOPLE TALKING ABOUT HUMAN RIGHTS!