You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: witness roadmap (potentially) for @jesta in 2018

in #witness-update6 years ago

Hello!

@jesta thank you very much for the SteemDB!

I see that there is an app GolosDB, but now It's not fully working... Account history and statistics for highest earning for posts are not working.

Is GolosDB an open source project? Is there a repository on GitHub and can I access the source code?

I have found only old SteemDB repo...I see that the application backend was written on PHP and Python. I develop in these languages.

I'd like to support this app.

Thanks!

Sort:  

I never did end up open sourcing it, but it is based on the old SteemDB repo with a few tweaks to make it for golos.

The problem with that codebase though is that it needs to be recreated, it's suffering from bloat and hitting walls with resource limitations. That's what this post was primarily all about and SteemDB suffers from the same problems.

My goal isn't to improve the code that already exists but instead create a new explorer codebase that scales much better. SteemDB (and shortly after, GolosDB) were some of my first projects in the blockchain space, so they aren't really built properly.