Witness Update 2018.02.04 ~ Thanks for 1k!

in #witness-update6 years ago (edited)

Witness-Update-2018-02-04.png

Current Server Setup:

  • Intel Xenon E3 (8 Core)
  • 32GB DDR3 ECC RAM
  • 20TB Bandwidth

Witness Parameters:

  • SBD Interest Rate: 0
  • Price Feed Bias: 0
  • Registration Fee: 0.2 STEEM
  • Maximum Block Size: 131,072

Witness Ranking: 103 / Active Rank: 87

Thank you to everyone who has voted for me over these past two weeks! With extra thanks to the @minnowsupport project for accepting my application for one of their witness votes. It's an honor to have the confidence of the group administrators. I will continue to do all I can to support both the project, and the new minnows we come across on a daily basis.

Also, thank you @jerrybanfield for the vote. You are one of the biggest advocates for steem, with a lot of great resources for new users. Your support of my witness is support for my mission to help new Steemians create the best content they can. Keep up the great work getting the word out about steem around the internet!

Happenings Around The Steem Blockchain

Plankton Delegation

A few days back I ran a contest to delegate steem power to three plankton who create great content. This came about due to the bandwidth issues being seen here on Steem. In this post, I explained what bandwidth was, how it works, and what newsteemians needed to do in order to receive my delegation.

I only chose three winners due to the fact that I do not have enough Steem Power to spare yet to choose more. In the winner announcement post I clarified some questions and mentioned that lowering the delegated Steem Power for the next round is a possibility to allow for more winners in the future. I am still figuring out the best amount of Steem Power to delegate in order to properly help people get around their bandwidth woes.

jrswab-witness-update-plankton-delegation.png

The next round will be help on February 13th, 2018, with the winners being announced on the 15th. Instead of delegating out 100 SP, I plan to set the delegation to 50. If the top three winners are able to bypass the bandwidth limit message, then I will pull in three more to support. My goal with this initiative is to help these hard working plankton be able to keep working hard, with the main stipulation that they sell all SBD to STEEM in order to power up.

On top of the delegations, I also upvote their posts with 100% to get them as close to a self sustainable level as fast as possible. The vote is not worth a alot since all my delegation accounts for about 75% of my Steem Power while running this contest. That being said, I continue to power up myself in order to be a bigger help to the plankton/minnow community.

The Creators' Guild

A lot of my focus over the past week has been helping anyone who joins the Creators' Guild with the intention of creating better content. We are growing well so far with 65 members at the time I write this. Being a small group keep the general chat slow, but allows me and the other coaches a closer interaction with members seeking help.

As we continue to grow, we will need more coaches to help, so if you are an experienced content creator (genre agnostic), please join us and interact! The more we are able to help each other, the better off we all will be. Our goal is to increase the level of content seen on the Steem blockchain in order to pull in more investors and well known content creators.

Another Steem Record

As with last week, the Steem blockchain hit another transaction record without a hiccup, according to @blocktivity.

new-steem-transaction-record
image from blocktivity.info

Here's to three million!

Thanks For 1k Follows!

As of today, you all have me over one thousand followers. I am truly blessed to have such support from everyone on the steem network. After deciding to take this platform seriously back in September of 2017, I never expected to see such support. All of you have made these last fifteen years of blogging worth the effort. Thank you!!

I will continue to create the best content I can with the aim of helping anyone who is in need. I am always open to chat if needed, so please do not hesitate to message jrswab#3134 on Discord or jrswab on steemit.chat. If you have Discord, use that as I am there 99% of the time I am online.

All images came from royalty and attribution free sources unless specified.

Like what you see?!
You can vote me as witness!
If you have any questions about the future of Steem or my witness please feel free to message jrswab#3134 on Discord.

vote-jrswab-for-steem-Witnesses—Steemit.gif

Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Scroll down to the bottom of the page.
Type "jrswab" into the box.
Click "Vote" once.
Refresh & check.

Sort:  

congratulation @jrswab for your 1k follower.

Thank you! I wish you all the best on the Steem platform as well!

thank you so much for your wish. i will try my best as a new member.

I think around 50 should be enough, during crunch times they should have at least a few hundred kb which should be enough so that they won't experience the -100 kb or so that they'd have with 15 SP. They'd probably still get locked out during extreme network congestion, but at least you can delegate to twice as many people.

Yes, thank you for you input. At 50 SP I will be able to support many more amazing new creators here.

I'm not sure if some people have less than 15SP, but I am pretty sure since most of us do have 15SP (including steem delegation), you can actually give less amount. Let's say 50SP is enough, you can give 35SP or 40SP to help someone get to 50SP. Does that make sense? That could allow you to delegate to an extra person, if necessary.

Yes! I will have to test out some lower delegations in the next round.

Congrats on your 1k followers @jrswab.. Thanks for the help and support you have being giving to new minnows including myself.. Goodluck on your witness journey..

Thanks! Happy to help in every way I am able. <3

Some great updates! Happy to have connected with you and look forward to growing the community alongside your efforts. You have my witness vote!

Thank you! Looking forward to your future content!

ok got my vote have some more left to share :)

Thank you so much!

Thanks for your help on Discord earlier. 👍

Anytime mate! Please feel free to ask me anything and I will do my best to get you the answer if I currently do not know. <3

You still one of the best friend and leader i hv met here on steemit. Congrats to ur 1k follower and as a witness, ur rank will cont to move up...good one!

Thank you sir! <3