You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do I really need 64GB of RAM for my witness nodes?

in #witness-update6 years ago

I have always kept shared-memory on disk. Not even an NVMe, just a regular SATA disk on RAID0. Disk usage never goes above 5%, though I'm sure there may be spikes. Never had any issues thus far.

My RAM usage has never exceeded 2 GB.

I do have a backup node with NVMe testing AppBase 0.19.4. Tested /dev/shm, couldn't think of a single benefit, so I'll stick with NVMe for now. After NVMe comes Optane. Using RAM seems a long, long way away.

Of course, it's a different story for a full node.

Sort:  

Yikes, I'm not sure it's reliable to run it on regular HDD. Is that your backup node? Check your latencies, I bet you're hitting very high numbers every once in a while (i.e. will cause missed blocks).

Short spikes are fine ;-) I hope someone with full node will share best practices ;-) I would love to read about the configuration, requirements and daily issues. ;-)

Do you remember how long is the replay when shared file is on a disk?

i would like to bring you witness to my w/(h) ea L/L (t/h) D https://steemit.com/g0fig/@xubrnt/ned-steemit