Question for those who vote for or proxy to lukestokes.mhth

in #witness-update4 years ago (edited)

Should I continue producing blocks on Steem or should I disable my witness there and make a clean break to Hive, leaving the centrally controlled producers on Steem to run that chain as they see fit?

image.png

I have great respect for the talent, dedication, and effort of the many witnesses, developers, coordinators, content creators, business owners and more who have worked (some with little sleep) for weeks to make Hive a reality. Some on social media have thanked me as I share posts about this, but for the most part I've just been spreading information, participating in media interviews when asked, participating in some discussions (but less than some who are going without sleep to do so), running my nodes, and helping edit some documents here and there.

Some witnesses have disabled as to no longer produce on Steem. As @gtg said here:

I see no point in supporting the old version, for the same reasons why I didn’t support the parallel versions running HF 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20 or 21 code after the updates.

I respect that view and it makes sense, but Hive isn't just another fork, IMO. It's clearly a whole new chain which leaves the old chain still in place. Yes, it currently has the same chain id, but it does have a different name, token symbol, etc. If (when?) Steem dies completely, Hive will be seen as a clean fork. Until then, to me, it's something different.

My intention for continuing to produce on Steem was stated here:

I don't intend to leave the Steem blockchain entirely right away, so I will, after the fork time on the Steem chain, switch a machine over to producing on v0.22.1. My intention is to keep that running long enough for those who want to power down their STEEM and don't trust the centrally-controlled witnesses to keep the chain running.

I'm now reconsidering this position and want to get your perspective, especially if you look to my account as a proxy or vote for my witness directly. I have a hard time justifying support for a blockchain that is openly centralized and controlled by one individual. By running a node on Steem, am I contributing to an illusion of decentralization when there is, in reality, none? I'm currently position 35 on Steem, but if I disable (and all others disable) it will send a very clear message that the only witnesses there are those who are comfortable with centralization.

What do you think?

I also asked this question over on Steem.

Sort:  

Honestly, I'm still in the mind that you should keep your node running to help people transition across. There's lots of people like me who are popping their head back in after a hiatus, and others that might not have noticed the chaos... Maybe keep it up for a month or so? Unless it's costing you too much of course...

That was my thinking also, but really, if the sock-puppet, centralized witnesses can run the chain in their own data center, why do they need me? I can't stop them as just one witness from doing anything that harms Steem users.

Yeah, that's fair. It's such an odd situation...

Please do completely make a shift from steem.

Thanks for your feedback.

And I saw your comment under the post of @steemchiller. It is indeed a great lose for us not to include him in the airdrop. I love to use steemworld. So please do something from your end to immediately bring him to our chain.

For good or bad, there is nothing a single person can do. I fought hard against this yesterday, but I was not listened to. It's unfortunate. Now we have to figure out what to do next. Steemchiller still seems to think some actions by Justin were justified because of v0.22.2. I hope they change their mind and come to Hive. I hope the proposal system gets updated to work on Hive so he can be included in the airdrop.

I hope.

Gotta admit, from the standpoint of getting my Steem out, I’d like to see at least a few competent hands on deck at Steem for a few months. I’m of the mind that it’s not unlikely Steem will now experience some serious chain halts. The Tron team & witnesses have not inspired confidence. Beyond that, I think full focus on Hive is the way to go.

If the chain halts and it's all controlled by them... I wouldn't be able to help much anyway though, right?

I don't know. I hear you and agree it would be nice to have some who care enough to help it limp along enough for power downs... but I just don't want to support a centralized blockchain.

Of course you can’t deploy code, but it seems like original witnesses have been acting as “tech support” for the newbies, sad as it may seem!

But I totally get it. It’s like being fired from your job but being told to train your replacement before you leave. I’m glad so many aren’t planning on splitting their time and efforts and are fully focused on Hive. I feel like in this discussion you’re kind of answering your own question. If continuing on with Steem a moment longer feels like a compromise of your principals and an unnecessary burden... shut it down today! I don’t think anyone would fault you.

Thanks Byran. People fault me all the time for all kinds of reasons. :)

I wouldn't compromise my principles, but as you can see from the comments here, it's quite divided. Some would like to know some witnesses are sticking around. Others are curious why anyone would stick around.

I'm trying to do the best job I can to represent those who vote for me. The more I talk it through, the more I lean towards leaving Steem to the centralized nodes.

Yeah... you’re right... I do think people would fault you... they just wouldn’t matter! 😆

I appreciate your desire and earnest attempts to consult with your “constituents.” Hope you’re still getting plenty of enjoyment out of this crazy but awesome little moment in time!

Is that even a question?

View the replies here and you'll see that it is. Some are worried about Steem while they power down and move to Hive and want at least some witnesses to stick around and be there for them. It's a tough decision.

I just wonder what Justin will do now he has a super majority. He could in theory mess up anyone who he sees going to Hive or who has just pissed him off. Is it worth the bad publicity he will get? The problem is that the community witnesses may not be able to get enough votes to make the top 20.

I plan to power down and leave Steem, but that may take a while.

Yes, it will take a while. That's why I was thinking of sticking around as a witness to support that, but... I don't want to help with a lie that Steem is decentralized. It is not.

It's a dilemma for sure. It will be interesting to see how quickly Steem goes downhill. I guess the Steemhunt community and others who supported Justin will stick around at least. I'll see you over on Hive.

Well, most of us regular users powered up instead of down to fight that war. Now it would be good to get the tokens out but I completely understand your position. No hard feelings if you decide to leave the dark past behind and focus on a much brighter future. Hive on!

I appreciate that. Thank you.

just a small question... what will happen if all the community witness switch off steem witness nodes? Do you think we will still have chances of powering down all the steem still there or we will take the risk of stopping the whole blockchain itself?

The chain is already centrally controlled by Justin. The community witnesses don't matter much at this point. Tron / Steemit can do whatever they want with the chain. They have full control, especially if all the other witnesses leave so there isn't even an option to vote anyone else (even if there was enough community stake and engagement to do so).

You post has been manually curated by BDvoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.

Are you a Splinterlands player? If Yes, then checkout MonsterMarket.io. Get instant 3% cashback on every card purchase, and 2% cashback on every booster pack purchase on MonsterMarket.io. MonsterMarket has the highest revenue sharing in the space - 60% for cards and 40% for packs, no minimum spending is required. Join MonsterMarket Discord.

BDvoter Team

para mi, no se lo suficiente sobre lo que sucedera con Steem y lamento que las personas se queden atrapadas en Steem, hay muchas personas que no tienen idea de lo que esta sucediendo y creo que la gente necesita explicarlo mejor. Al igual que lo que realmente significa una bifurcación para esta comunidad, muchos no lo saben y si leen la publicacion aun no pueden entender. No minimices tu trabajo, eres mi heroe, adelante, elige lo que sea adecuado para ti ❣

There are a lot of very difficult technical concepts in the blockchain world, including what a "fork" is. Unfortunately, there is no easy process. I've been in blockchain for over 7 years, and I had to teach myself this stuff. The info is out there, but most people are busy with other things, so I understand if they don't want to invest that time. Blockchain is the future, so I encourage everyone to learn as much as they can about it.


Google Translate:

Hay muchos conceptos técnicos muy difíciles en el mundo blockchain, incluido lo que es un "tenedor". Lamentablemente, no hay un proceso fácil. He estado en blockchain durante más de 7 años, y tuve que enseñarme esto. La información está disponible, pero la mayoría de la gente está ocupada con otras cosas, así que entiendo si no quieren invertir ese tiempo. Blockchain es el futuro, por lo que animo a todos a aprender todo lo que puedan al respecto.

Please keep running your node on Steem. My request is a selfish one. I'm powering down and so that will take some time. I plan to sink all of that SP into HP, but I won't be able to do that if the whole steem chain crashes.

Thanks for your feedback. I don't know if I can do much considering I'm just one node.

Same story for me. Thanks Luke!

Posted using Partiko iOS

(I tried to reply this morning, but the post never "took," and I couldn't signin until just now.)

A conference I was to speak at next month has been rescheduled to the last week in August/first week of September, right on top of our 20th wedding anniversary. I don't want to let anyone down: my colleagues, the attendees, the organizers, or my wife. I have to choose.

I'll be spending the week with my wife.

You've devoted so much time and effort to supporting the community, not just the chain. What best supports the community now?

Devote your energies where they'll have the most long-term impact, and which align most clearly with your values. Our deliberate actions are the best manifestations of our values. They are not always easy, they will have a mix of positive and negative affects on others.

From where I sit, that would be to give yourself a deadline, and shut down that node. Whether anyone like me is powering down, powering up, doing nothing, trying to figure out what to do, whatever; that's up to us, and the sun - no, that that one, the sky one :-) - will come up tomorrow, no matter what we are able to do with our Steem.

Thanks Clark. I saw your comment on Steem as well.