You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Softfork 0.22.2: why I didn't apply the changes to my witness node.

However, there are potential risk that backup Witnesses are being pushed upwards towards the Top20 position, effectively rendering the Softfork useless.

Can you explain what you mean here? As long as the majority of witnesses support it (or don't), the longest chain will win. Micro forks may happen, but the longest chain will win which will exclude (or include) a transaction that is currently being blocked based on the majority of the elected witnesses. That's my understanding today, anyway.

I'm curious, do you think the Townhall meeting would have happened if the witnesses had done nothing?

Sort:  

What I was thinking is that non-SF backup witnesses could be somehow pushed up to the top 20.

As for the Townhall, we haven’t tried to make it or a similar meeting happen before deciding on the SF have we? We could have all compiled the SF, request for a friendly meeting and stand ready for activation. And by request I mean an en masse campaign to reach out to Justin on major platforms he is on. The SF surely did make it happen fast

Posted using Partiko iOS