Improve your PeakD blogging experience by switching your node!!!

in #witness4 years ago

Man, I was getting really frustrated using PeakD. It has been erroring left and right. Slow. And really frustrating for me. Well, I randomly got a ping from @someguy123 from Privex that my node was one of the best performing nodes on the network.

He knows this because he was bench marking performance using peakd's benchmark tool: https://beta.peakd.com/me/tools/benchmark

Here were his results!

image.png

Now this is dependent on geography too so I went and tested it from the USA.

image.png

A couple things came from this. I saw that my current node was erroring, and that's likely why PeakD wasn't working, and I still had one of the fastest nodes even from the States. So, I changed the node I'm using with PeakD to the hived.hive-engine.com one that I run and now it's blazing fast.

So, if you're having a slow day using PeakD you can change things:

  1. Click here and start a benchmark: https://beta.peakd.com/me/tools/benchmark
  2. look at which one has the fastest ping for you
  3. click the blue box in the top left of the node to set your default node to that one
  4. enjoy the change of pace and stop feeling frustrated
  5. Profit!
  6. Bro Down!

Hey Top 20... Run a damn node!

Hive is in the top 50 coins. Prices are doing good. There's no reason why a top witness shouldn't be running a full node. I'm not even in the top 20 and I started running one when it was still 10 cent Hive.

Currently only half of the top 20 run one. These guys are taking thousands of dollars from the reward pool as a witness and a bunch of them are taking thousands more from proposals and can't bother themselves to run some fucking infrastructure to help the chain. For real? Really?

There's no steemit inc that we can all rely on, and if a non-dev like me can do the system ops necessary to run a full node then the Top 20 getting paid 300+ hive a day should be able to run one as well!!!

Please rearrange your witness votes according to who is actually supporting the network. Here's a list of nodes: http://hivekings.com/nodes

hived.hive-engine.com (@aggroed)
anyx.io (@anyx)
hived.privex.io (@privex / @someguy123)
api.hivekings.com (@drakos)
api.openhive.network (@gtg)
api.pharesim.me (@pharesim)
api.hive.blog (@blocktrades)
rpc.esteem.app (@good-karma)
api.followbtcnews.com @followbtcnews
rpc.ausbit.dev @ausbitbank

Here's the top 20: https://hive-db.com/witnesses

If you're going to rent a server for a witness node or for a full node I strongly recommend using Privex. The support and help is awesome and the servers have been great. They are admittedly a little over the cost of the cheapest servers out there, but those guys don't know shit about Hive where as Someguy literally wrote the guide on how to run it! Use my referral code and we both save money.

https://www.privex.io/?r=aggroed

Sort:  

Thanks for the post.
I agree with it. I started witness and node servers this month to support the Hive chain. I would like to run fullnode in the future.

I use Privex for both for both of my servers now and I like their services, but I think we should think about real decentralization and it is not good if eg. 90% of nodes will be hosted by Privex.

Currently only half of the top 20 run one. These guys are taking thousands of dollars from the reward pool as a witness and a bunch of them are taking thousands more from proposals and can't bother themselves to run some fucking infrastructure to help the chain. For real? Really?

And they get incredibly large rewards on their posts to boot :P

Would be better if not everyone used privex, we need nodes in other datacenters too!

Agree here as well!

My guess is that the super experienced devs that don't need any support will go to whatever is cheapest that works for them. People with less experience that need the support will pay a premium for the support. Markets will market and things will work out.

Sure, it's just pretty useless to have x nodes there when they're not busy. It won't make a speed difference for anyone, and it doesn't create redundancy for when there's an issue in their datacenter. If 50% of the nodes are there, a problem with a single cable would shut down half our infrastructure. I know they offer different locations, not sure that's also for those servers - if yes, it would be good to spread them over those places.

Your node was fastest for me @pharesim. You got my witness vote.
I agree that while Privex is great, HIVE needs diversity and redundancy

Thanks for the update. Will be voting for these witnesses now. I encourage all witnesses to run a node. Can u link a post on how to run a node to this article so that witnesses who are not running nodes can easily set one up

it's in there already!!! Can you find it?

I have seen the guide. Thanks. It was in the last paragraph of the article .

Thanks for update and back door information to slow times, plus most importantly Witnesses to support, well done and thanks again!

@tipu curate

Great tool, thanks for the update, had been noticing some issues with it so have selected a new node to see if things are a bit smoother - nice one!

We might just use you as a voting proxy then :D

Also, meanwhile, in Australia, ~3200MS to the fastest node.

Wow! That is so cool and easy to find your fastest node.
Thanks for this.

I totally agree that all Top 20 Witnesses should run an API node.
It should be a requirement to make it into the top 20.

Useful post. Thanks, @aggroed.
Right now, it seems @pharesim works best for me.

8 separate nodes are pretty nice start for decentralization after just over 1 month of existence. Looks like there are a couple more on that list you have that aren't even on the Peakd selection options. (it's up to them if they want to be on the list for our users to select)

I think we'd all love to see Auto Switching of nodes because not everyone will know to use a benchmark tool. Also things can change day to day based on heavy usages so more communication from nodes to interfaces/users would help a lot. Seems like there could be several things done tod help spread the usage which is important a majority of users will never manually check and select their best node.

But that being said it's nice to share with people about how they can presently optimize their performance.

Great idea.. most users will have no idea so an integrated option would be ace bananas.

nodes1.png

When I wrote 8 nodes that was from checking BETA site and not the main page which doesn't have the 3 we added this morning and one of them is just a test.

So we'll be up to 7. But apparently there are others running nodes.

Very helpful!

Cheers. my connection seems quite unstable here in Ireland will check for best node when I get home.

Better late than never when it comes to joining the full node club.

There witnesses not running nodes!?.....and the drama begins and i hope it ends here....going to have to check where my votes are....IF YOUR A WITNESS YOU SHOULD BE RUNNING A NODE. This fucking frustrates me and I don't curse too often online.
Lets hope whoever isn't running a node and is a witness comes to there senses if you do not believe in the platform and only want the reward you shouldn't be a witness.

Fuck, this makes me want to try and become a witness just to run a node, and I'm not rolling in money, average pay check to pay check dude here. I fully agree with Aggroed, like I said come to your senses. Don't give Hive a bad name...already....smh

edit: re-blogged to help spread the word

My votes are re-adjusted, privex is disabled? I see two on the list, but one online and its disabled?

@privex witness is disabled, you can always vote for @someguy123 though.

i'll check it out, thank you

Shame you can't switch nodes with Hive-Engine, it hasn't worked in days.